There's still snow on the ground in some places and the temperatures still are what you can call .. er, brisk. However both boys and girls high school lacrosse teams are into the second week of games.
Tuesday, some of Section VI's traditionally strong teams were in action including defending Section VI Class A champion Lancaster and traditional powers Orchard Park and Hamburg.

You couldn't ask for a tougher assignment than the one new head coach Dan Vogl has taken on at Lancaster.
Vogl took over a team that won the Legends' first Section VI championship last season. His assistant coach, David Mazur who had been the head coach.

Lancaster lost its opener last week to defending Class B champion Williamsville East but Vogl got his first win, an 8-4 victory at Clarence in a match of Class A teams.

Shawn Davis and Chris Shave scored three times and Alex Reimer had four assists for the Legends.
"Our defense played outstanding. They really held the Clarence offensive down," Vogl said.

Vogl's defenders limited Clarence to two first half goals and had to be particularly strong when they were a man down for three minutes late in the game.

Dylan Lanning, who has replaced Ben Mazur, now at St. Bonaventure, in goal for the Legends, had 10 saves. Logan Prescott had 11 faceoff wins and Anthony Scoma came up with five ground balls.
Orchard Park rolled over City Honors, 19-0. Hamburg traveled to Williamsville North and came away with an 18-7 triumph under the lights on the Spartans home field.

Conor Murphy had two goals and two assists and Owen Cooney had two goals for North.

Scotty Bowman Showcase on Friday at KeyBank Center

Many of the best high school, prep and junior hockey players from Western New York and the Rochester area will be on display Friday in the 15th annuaol Scott Bowman Showcase at KeyBank Center.
Three games are on the schedule starting with a matchup of high school juniors from the two areas playing for the Tim Horton Memorial Cup at 5 p.m.

High school senior all-star teams from the two cities will take the ice at 7 p.m., competing for the Scott Bowman Cup, named for the Hall of Fame coach who won more games than any coach in NHL history.

The third game at 9 p.m. will feature players from Buffalo and Rochestesr who play prep or junior hockey either locally or elsewhere. The players will compete for the Rick Martin Memorial Cup.

Tickets for the tripleheader are $5.

The Showcase team rosters:



Forwards: Frank Attea (St. Joe’s), Ryan Fitch (St. Francis), Alex Ghosen (Kenmore East), Tyler Hunt (Grand Island), Jack Kinsman (Orchard Park), Jason Melanson (Williamsville East), Jacob Okulewicz (Williamsville North), Brian O’Neill (Grand Island), Matthew Orlowski (St. Joe’s), Max Richter (Lancaster), Jaden Riley (Canisius), Joey Zachary (Lewiston Porter). Defense: Sammy Dantonio (St. Mary’s), Mitchell Floccare (St. Joe’s), Ben Foster (Niagara Wheatfield), Hunter Kashuba (West Seneca East), Sammy Nichols (Canisius), Matthew Walsh (Hamburg). Goaltenders: Ryan Albert (Orchard Park), Joe Fronczak (St. Joe’s), Alex Wagner (North Tonawanda)

Coaches: Richard Crozier (St. Joe’s), John McFall (Hamburg) and Kyle Pray (Kenmore East).

Players selected but unavailable: Billy Coughlin (West Seneca West).


Forwards: Sam Bresson (Victor), Jude Cole (Brighton), Nicholas Cowie (Rush Henrietta), Reed Currie (Webster Thomas), Jake Franklin (Gates-Chili), Maxwell Hutchins (Notre Dame of Batavia), Caleb Kaiser (Fairport), Carter McWilliams (Canandaguia), Trevor Schmidt (Gates-Chili), Jason Uebelacker (Spencerport), Ronin VanDamme (Pittsford). Defense: William Fisher (Webster Thomas), Nicholas Krug (Fairport), Cameron Lombard (Brighton), Hunter McDonald (Fairport), Mark Neu (Spencerport), Alex Totten (Notre Dame of Batavia), Kyle Vent (Webster Thomas). Goaltenders: Pieter Bartelse (Victor), Lenny Perno (Aquinas), Alex Tidd (Pittsford). Coaches: David Evans (Webster Thomas), Ryan Ford (Spencerport), Marc Staley (Notre Dame of Batavia). Selected but unavailable for game: Jack Feola (Irondequoit), Jack McCandles (Victor).



Forwards: Michael Barker (Kenmore West), Chris Caccitore (Niagara Wheatfield), Chase Chodkowski (West Seneca West), Cameron Crosier (Kenmore West), John Glascoe (Bishop Timon), Zach Mecca (Orchard Park), William Redding (St. Joe’s), Dylan Russo (Grand Island), Chuck Schmidl (Starpoint), Anthony Scoma (Lancaster), Michael Velasquez (West Seneca West), Ethan Yotter (Kenmore West). Defense: Fergus Gould (Bishop Timon-St. Jude), Ryan Hahn (Kenmore East), Zach Lewis (St. Francis), Connor Mentel (West Seneca East), Ryan Mitchell (Williamsville East), Trevor Samplinski (Grand Island). Goaltenders: Jake Hutchison (Hamburg), Kyle Karoleski (St. Mary’s), Nathan Stroh (Grand Island).

Coaches: Kevin Miller (Lancaster), Don Port (Grand Island), Robert Roszak (Kenmore West).


Forwards: TJ Catanese (Rush Henrietta), Nicholas Cira (Aquinas), Grant Dowler (Brighton), Hayden Feck (Pittsford), Zachary Lee (McQuaid), Jacob Matlock (Hilton), Charlie Merkley (McQuaid), Lukas Miller (Victor), Spencer Nuccitelli (Webster Thomas), Jack Schlifke (Pensfield), Connor Stuewe (Pensfield). Defense: Bobby Bradley (Penfield), Connor Gelabert (Victor), Brendan Haims (Pittsford), Matthew Kotsch (Churchville Chili), Tyler Phillips (Irondequoit). Goaltenders: Cameron Kuzniar (Rush Henrietta), Cody Rougeux (Webster Thomas), Isaac Sweet (Geneseo). Coaches: Mike Ferrari (Victor), Nate Miller (Penfield), Steve Thering (Pittsford). Selected but unavailable: Josh Albert (Victor), Zack Quinton (Pittsford).



Forwards: Alec Cicero (20U Jr. Sabres), Dylan Lugris (Nichols), Kyle Neudorf (Millbrook), Cameron Ricotta (Nichols), Colby Seitz (18U Jr. Sabres), Casey Severo (Nobles & Greenough), Alex Stinis (Regals), Logan Tobias (18U Jr. Sabres), Matthew Yeager (16U Jr. Sabres), Chase Nicholson (20U Jr. Sabres), Defense: Joshua Higgins (18U Jr. Sabres), Garrett Kessler (18U Jr. Sabres), Tyler Nasca (Islanders Hockey Club), Josh Phillips (20U Jr. Sabres), Samuel Saccone (16U Jr. Sabres), Joseph Visconte (18U Rochester Coalition). Goaltenders: Mitchel Pulaski (18U Jr. Sabres), Grant Riley (16U Rochester Coalition). Coach: Cody McCormick (Sabres Alumnus),

Selected but unavailable: Ethan Breh (20U Jr. Sabres), Ryan Leonard (Nichols), David Bunn (16U Jr. Sabres), Case McCarthy (USNTDP), Ryan Coughlin (18U Selects Academy), Declan McDonnell (20U Jr. Sabres), Elijah Devereaux (Northwood Prep), Robbie Nuchereno (Nichols), Conner Hasley (Northfield Prep), Michael Suda (Nichols), Trevor Kuntar (Youngstown Phantoms)


Forwards: Leo Bax (Gilmore), Paul Cartone (18U Jr. Sabres), Kyle Neudorf (Millbrook), Zach Friol (16U Jr. Sabres), Blake Humphrey (16U Rochester Coalition), Nate Mann (16U Jr. Sabres), Austin Robinson (16U Jr. Sabres), Griffin Tominez (Millbrook), Dalton Wright (16U Jr. Sabres), Kevin Martin (16U Amherst Knights), Chase Nicholson (20U Jr. Sabres). Defense: Josh Albert (18U Rochester Monarchs), Jake Buerger (20U Jr. Sabres), Michael Despirt (Regals), Jackson McCarthy (16U Jr. Sabres), Ben Ritter (Loomis), Jacob Zwirecki (16U Jr. Sabres). Goaltenders: Luke Pavicich (16U Jr. Sabres), Nick Haas (Salisbury).
Coach: Michael Peca (Sabres Alumnus).