Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo

Where are Western New York's high school athletes headed?

Even with the cancellation of spring sports, signings and commitments to colleges continue for Western New York athletes. Information from coaches and athletic directors can be sent to

Here are the latest updates:

  • Cleveland Hill’s Christopher Diem, a two-time All-Western New York football player and state champion in track, will complete in both sports at Buffalo State. Diem was named to the second team in football at linebacker in 2019 and as a utility player in 2018. Diem, Aaron Wahler, D'Mario Grant and Javon Thomas won the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II title in the 4 x 100 relay in 2018 with a time of 43 seconds flat. The relay team also earned a spot on the school's wall of fame commemorating state champions.
  • Offensive lineman Luke McMahon from Bishop Timon-St. Jude is heading to Utica College.
  • Frontier volleyball outside hitter Jiana Kresconko will play for Erie Community College. She was an All-ECIC Division 1 second-team selection.
  • Eden’s Alex Overhoff, an outside hitter who was named to the All-Western New York second team, will play at Kean University.
  • Eden wrestler Giovanni Schifano will compete for Edinboro.
  • Jamestown catcher Jonah Tonkin will play baseball for Houghton College.
  • Paige Wagner, a midfielder from West Seneca East, will play soccer at Hilbert.
  • Anevay Rice from Clarence is expected to play lacrosse and soccer for American International College in Springfield, Mass. She was named to the second team in All-ECIC Division I in soccer last fall.
  • Starpoint’s Tori Angelo will continue her softball career at Brockport.
  • West Seneca West linebacker Dillon Weir will be playing at Buffalo State.
  • Sam Mullin, a catcher at Niagara County Community College, will play his final two seasons at Tiffin University in Ohio. He is from Silver Creek.
  • Abdi Salim, who was the SUNYAC Defensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, has transferred from Buffalo State to Syracuse University. He played all 18 games as a freshman for the Bengals soccer team. A Hutch-Tech graduate, he captained the Empire US Soccer Developmental Academy U17 and U19 teams before he went to Buffalo State.
  • Portville basketball guard Karly Welty will play at Alfred University.
  • Springville-Griffith sprinter Evelyn Smith will continue her track career at Fredonia State.
  • Holland volleyball player Megan Armbrust will continue her career at Genesee Community College.
  • Allegany-Limestone's Casey Curran will play basketball at Alfred University.

Nichols School

The Nichols School recently had a virtual signing day ceremony to affirm the next steps for 13 athletes, including five who signed to play junior hockey.

The college signees are Ellie Wyckoff, St. Lawrence squash; Alexa Carlon and Cortney Staniszewski, Utica College hockey; Claire McGennis, Rochester Institute of Technology hockey; Alex Snow, Castleton University hockey; Dana Nigrin, Swarthmore lacrosse; Sam Thompson, Vermont sailing; and Samantha Jensen, Tufts sailing.

Four players are headed to the North American Junior League: Cameron Bauer, Springfield Junior Blues; Dylan Lugris, Jersey Hitman; Cameron Ricotta, Jamestown; and Noah Szretter, New Jersey Titans. Walter Zacher will play for the Sherwood Park Crusaders in the North Alberta Junior League in Canada.

Orchard Park

Orchard Park announced a flurry of spring signings: Swimmer Bebe Choroser to Loyola Marymount; tennis player Bode Vance to Duquesne;  lacrosse player Dylan Moffet to Muskingum University in Ohio; cross country state qualifier and track athlete Jack Heraty to Geneseo; soccer player Kathryn Pazderski to St. John Fisher; and volleyball player Nicholas Thomas to Potsdam.

Canisius High

Canisius High had a virtual signing day ceremony with 13 athletes affirming their college plans, bringing the total to 18 seniors who have announced.

Here are the 13: Lucas Beyer, Boston College cross country; Jackson Boras, Miami (Ohio) football; Nigel Dabney and Elijah Haqq, Alfred football; James Reilly Egan, Syracuse crew; Sam Harig, Ithaca rugby; Aidan Hart-Nova, Holy Cross crew; Oscar Neil, Deerfield Academy crew; Pat Notaro, Loyola (Md.) rugby; Evan Reimann, Erie Community College baseball; Troy Toohey, St. Lawrence soccer; Dewayne Vass, Iowa Western Community College basketball; and Hugh Wolf, John Carroll football.

Story topics: / / / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment