Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: March 21, 2020

After the ACBL this week advised cancellation or postponement of all club games and tournaments through May 11 because of Covid-19, Western New York Unit 116 canceled its Spring Sectional Tournament April 24-26, its Non-Life Master Sectional May 16-17 and the spring session of its Youth Bridge Lessons.

• • •

Among clubs, the Airport Bridge Club was first to close last week. The Delaware Wednesday, East Aurora and Lockport clubs also canceled their games for at least two weeks. Since most bridge players fall into the age group that is in greatest danger from the novel coronavirus, clubs will not reopen until they determine that the threat is over. The Bridge Center of Buffalo, which hosts Bridge Club Meridian and Delaware Wednesday, continued to be open all week, then closed Friday.

• • •

Tournament calendar

2020

POSTPONED: Rochester Spring Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, March 28, and Sunday, March 29. For info, click this link.

CANCELED: Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, April 7, to Sunday, April 12. For info, click this link.

CANCELED: Rochester Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Strathallan Hotel, 550 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 17, and Saturday, April 18.

CANCELED: Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 24, to Sunday, April 26. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, to Monday, May 25. For info, click this link.

Syracuse Sectional – Syracuse Contract Duplicate Bridge Club, 501 Edgerton St., Minoa. Saturday, June 13, and Sunday, June 14.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 26, to Sunday, June 28. For info, click this link.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 7, to Sunday, July 12. For info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, July 11, and Sunday, July 12. For info, click this link.

Hamilton Sectional – Saturday, July 18, and Sunday, July 19. Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn Syracuse, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 10, to Sunday, Aug. 16. For info, click this link.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 15, and Sunday, Aug. 16.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 1,  to Monday, Sept. 7.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 11, to Sunday, Sept. 13.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 15, to Sunday, Sept. 20.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 3, and Sunday, Oct. 4.

CANCELED: Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 20, to Sunday, Oct. 25.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca County Office Building, 1 DiPronio Drive, Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 7, and Sunday, Nov. 8.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, to Sunday, Nov. 15.

2021

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021, to Sunday, Jan. 10, 2021.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 22, 2021, to Sunday, Jan. 24, 2021.

St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 12, 2021, to Sunday, Feb. 14, 2021.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, March 30, 2021, to Sunday, April 4, 2021.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 16, 2021, to Sunday, April 18, 2021.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 25, 2021, to Monday, May 31, 2021.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 4, 2021, to Sunday, June 6, 2021.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 6, 2021, to Sunday, July 11, 2021.

Rochester Regional – RIT Inn and Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Monday, Aug. 2, 2021, to Sunday, Aug. 8, 2021.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 21, 2021, and Sunday, Aug. 22, 2021.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2021, to Monday, Sept. 8, 2021.

Great Lakes Sectional – Erie Bridge Center, 1221 Grant Ave., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 11, 2021, and Sunday, Sept. 12, 2021.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 17, 2021, to Sunday, Sept. 19, 2021.

Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2021, to Sunday, Oct. 24, 2021.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021, to Sunday, Nov. 14, 2021.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, 2021, to Sunday, Nov. 15, 2021.

• • •

Bridge club websites

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

The Airport Bridge Club does not have a website. For info, call 716-603-6943.

• • •

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.

Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks sometimes cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/

The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.

Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is 716-849-4420.

• • •

Now a Gold Life Master, Dale Anderson is closing in on a career total of 2,700 master points. He blogs about his quest for the next measure of achievement, Emerald Life Master (3,500 points), and other bridge adventures here.

• • •

Duplicate scores
Week of March 9 to March 15
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – A: Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 66.41%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Barbara Libby, 58.73%; Linda Burroughsford and Alan Greer, 56.13%; B: Nadine Stein and Mary Terrana, 55.46%; Joanne LaFay and John Fiegl, 51.05%; Bob Sommerstein and Allen Beroza, 50.14%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Linda Burroughsford and John Ziemer, 62.92%; B: Art Matthies and Mike Silverman, 59.54%; C: Sandi England and Joanne LaFay, 51.25%; east-west, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 59.58%; Judi Marshall and Barbara Libby, 57.50%; B: Dorothy May and Dale Anderson, 52.92%; Martha and John Welte, 49.17%; C: (tie) Linda Zittel and Jan Hasselback, Barbara Multerer and Art Schumacher, 40.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday afternoon – A: John Ziemer and Alan Greer, 59.61%; B: Martha and John Welte, 58.22%; June Feuerstein and Dale Anderson, 56.39%; C: Vic Bergsten and Walt Olszewski, 55.44%; Dorothy and Larry Soong, 49.66%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – A: Elaine Kurasiewicz and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 61.11%; Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 59.26%; B: Ken Meier and Allen Beroza, 58.80%; C: Sandi England and Walt Olszewski, 52.31%; Joyce Greenspan and Art Schumacher, 50.46%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday afternoon – Non-life masters. A: Carol Neuhaus and Paul Morgante, 63.63%; B: Gini Sicignano and David Schott, 59.09%; Rose Bochiechio and Rivona Ehrenreich, 56.82%; Marcia Wright and Susan Cardamone, 53.63%; Rose Ann Grimaldi and Henry Porter, 52.28%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – Mary Ball and Art Morth, 60.94%; (tie) Judy Padgug and Stan Kozlowski, Gene Finton and Bob Padgug, 57.81%; Saleh Fetouh and Jay Costello, 57.41%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday afternoon – 999er game. Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 63.63%; Mary Ball and Joyce Frayer, 59.54%; Joe Miranda and Vince Taeger, 55.91%; Dorothy and Larry Soong, 53.63%; Carol Neuhaus and Ruth Nawotniak, 51.82%; Margaret Zhou and Henry Porter, 50.83%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – Chris Urbanek and Sue Neubecker, 67.50%; Bert Hargeshimer and Alex Kowal, 65%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south, Dorothy May and Ken Meier, 57.14%; Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargeshimer, 56.25%; Bob Padgug and Saleh Fetouh, 49.40%; Fran Kurtz and Pat Burns, 48.81%; east-west, Bud Seidenberg and Jay Costello, 69.05%; Ten-Pao Lee and John Sinclair, 54.76%; Judy Graf and Mike Ryan, 52.98%; Davis Heussler and Fred Yellen, 50.30%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday afternoon – Sharon Benz and Gini Sicignano, 59%; Judy Graf and Mike Ryan, 57%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Sunday afternoon – North-south, Mary Ludwiczak and John Marvin, 59.72%; Chris Urbanek and Sharon Benz, 56.25%; Bert Hargeshimer and Alex Kowal, 55.56%; Linda Burroughsford and Peter Patterson, 53.47%; east-west, Ten-Pao Lee and Fred Yellen, 56.94%; Martha and John Welte, 56.48%; Judy Graf and Mike Ryan, 54.40%; Mary Ball and Art Morth, 51.39%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – John Fiegl and Paul Zittel, 59.38%; Bob and Joan Ciszak, 58.33%; (tie) Joe Miranda and Sandi England, Ken Meier and Ruth Wurster, 57.29%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – A: (3-way tie) Saleh Fetouh and Bud Seidenberg, Judy Graf and Jim Gullo, Sharon Benz and Tova Reinhorn, 58.93%; B: Sue Neubecker and Eleanor Whelan, 53.57%; (tie) Claire Gareleck and Donna Steffan, Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 42.86%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – Bill Rich and Ed Harman, 57.7%; Jeff Bender and Henry Chudy, 56.6%; Mike and Vince Taeger, 55.3%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – North-south, Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 61.13%; Jim and Paula Jones, 53.65%; Sushil and Maria Amlani, 52.88%; east-west, Walt Olszewski and Jan O’Mara, 54.17%; (tied) Roy Crocker and John Lewis, Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 51.38%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – John Scott and Bob Linn, 63.19%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 60.42%; Jim Lanzo and Paul Capen, 56.25%; Kathy Fenn and Elve Johnston, 55.56%.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – Shirley Cassety and Sam Grossman, 69%; Jeff Peters and Edna Fill, 56.7%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Ruth Jones and Bob Kaiser, 66.5%; Perry Hoffman and Adele Denton, 45.8%; east-west, David Reeves and Nelson Torre, 64.6%; Emily Wetlaufer and Dick Munschauer, 49%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 66%; (tie) Ellen Lochead and Mary Jane Luce, Elaine Wegrzyn and Judy Thielman, 50%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Thelma Frauenhofer and Edna Henrich, 65.2%; Celine and Sam LaDuca, 56.9%; Susan and Harvey Lichtblau, 55.5%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment