Share this article

print logo

Just Communities of WNY presents 2020 awards

The National Federation for Just Communities of WNY will present the 2020 NFJC Community Leader Awards at a noon luncheon Thursday at the Buffalo Niagara Convention Center.

The National Federation for Just Communities of Western New York is a human relations organization dedicated to overcoming racism, bias and bigotry through education, advocacy and engagement. The following individuals and organizations will be honored for their work on behalf of others:

Community Service and Volunteerism Award – April Arman, executive director of Resources and Help Against Marital Abuse; Sabriyah Smith, clinical administrative coordinator, United HealthCare; Matthew Stadlmeir, senior business vendor analyst at M&T Bank.

Youth Award – Nicole Baker, senior at Lewis J. Bennett High School; Anna Brown, senior at Williamsville East High School; Jeremiah Chapman, senior at City Honors School; Jamal Harris Jr., junior at Cleveland Hill High School; Nate Kahn, senior at City Honors School; Eric LeBron, senior cadet at WNY Maritime Charter School; Lauren Murphy, senior at Nardin Academy; LeeAnna Quiles, senior at Middle Early College High School; Emma Stanczyk, junior at Park School; and Stephen M. Weiss, senior at Cardinal O’Hara High School.

Elizabeth A. Hickey Youth Award – Josephat Iyamureimye, senior at Burgard High School.

Dr. Manch Scholarship Award – Journey Hairston-Floyd, senior at Buffalo Seminary.

Healthcare Award – Dr. Anthony J. Billittier IV, executive vice president and chief medical officer for Independent Health; Karl Shallowhorn, program director for the Community Health Center of Buffalo.

Philanthropy Award – Dr. Curlane Jones-Brown and Dr. Lloyd Brown, chief of staff at Kenmore Mercy Hospital specializing in emergency medicine.

Law Enforcement Award – Carlton L. Cain, retired deputy superintendent of police for Niagara Falls.

Sports Award – Daemen College's Center for Allied and Unified Sport and Exercise.

Business Award – Colvin Cleaners.

Social Service Award – Rhonda Frederick, president and CEO of People Inc.

Agency Award – Gerard Place.

Education Award – Deborah T. Curtis, executive director of Niagara University's Brendan Center for Leadership, Language and Culture; Keith W. Frome, CEO and co-founder of Peer Forward; James R. Heck, III, retired director of Quality Integrated Education, Buffalo Public Schools; Noreen Kim Hill, project director for Indian education, Niagara Falls City School District.

Legal Award – John G. Horn, partner in charge of the Buffalo office of Harter Secrest & Emery.

Government Award – State Sen. Timothy M. Kennedy.

Interfaith Award – Mara Koven-Gelman and Irwin Gelman.

Organization Award – Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center.

Arts and Culture Award – Raíces Theatre Company.

Corporate Award – Rich Products Corp.

Media Award – Squeaky Wheel Film & Media Art Center.

Public Relations Award – Karla Thomas, director of marketing and research for Community Health Center of Buffalo.

There are no comments - be the first to comment