Share this article

print logo

What's ahead for the race for NY-27

It will take three elections in 2020 to fill the seat left open by the resignation of Chris Collins. Here is a look at how the race for New York's 27th Congressional District is shaping up.

April 28: Special Election

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Monday formally set the date for a special election to fill the remainder of Collins' unexpired term. The parties have designated their candidates.

• Democrat-Working Families: Nate McMurray/Democrat-Working Families

• Republican-Independence: Christopher L. Jacobs

Conservative line remains blank.

Winner immediately takes office and serves until Dec. 31, the remainder of Chris Collins' unexpired term.

June 23: GOP Primary

Candidates continue to maneuver, but three Republican candidates have said they will run in a GOP primary.

• Christopher L. Jacobs

• Beth A. Parlato

• Stefan I. Mychajliw Jr.

Winner faces Democratic candidate on Nov. 3.

Nov. 3: General Election

A regular election will be held in November for the two-year term that begins in 2021.

• Democrat, Republican, Conservative, Working Families and Independence: To be nominated later this year.

• Conservative: Beth A. Parlato*

*Parlato says she will not stay on the November ballot should another Republican win the June primary, so as not to split the vote against the Democrat.

Rob Ortt withdraws from NY-27 race; will seek re-election to State Senate

There are no comments - be the first to comment