Share this article

print logo

Canisius has three players on Hobey Baker list, Niagara one

Three hockey players from Canisius and one from Niagara have been named candidates for the 2020 Hobey Baker Award.

Canisius seniors Matt Hoover, Nick Hutchinson and Matt Stief, along with Niagara junior Brian Wilson, are four of the 79 players nominated during phase one of the award selection process.

The Hobey Baker Award is awarded annually to the top men’s ice hockey player in the nation. In addition to their performance on the ice, candidates must exhibit strength and character on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of the team, display outstanding skills in all phases of the game and show scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Hoover leads Canisius in scoring this season with 19 points (7 goals, 12 assists) in 20 games. Currently on a seven-game point streak he is tied for fifth in Atlantic Hockey’s scoring race with 17 points. He is second in the league in power-play
goals (5).

Hutchinson has the most goals (11) for the Griffs and has 17 points in 15 games played. Among active Division I players he ranks fifth in career-goals with 53 and has the second-most power play goals at 24.

Stief has 16 assists and is second on Canisius with 18 points. His assists total is a career-high. Stief has the second most assists (15) in the Atlantic and is eighth in league scoring with 16 points.

Wilson ranks second in the Atlantic with a .924 save percentage and sixth in the conference with a 2.44 goals-against average. Wilson has two shutouts in 13 games played.

Griffin Loughran, a sophomore from West Seneca who plays at Northern Michigan is a finalist as well.

Fans are able to vote for players at The first phase runs from now through March 8. Afterward, the list will be narrowed down to 10 players with voting from March 19-29.

The final three will be announced on April 2 with the winner being announced on April 10 during the
NCAA Frozen Four Championship.

There are no comments - be the first to comment