Share this article

print logo

West Seneca East's Vinny Pagliaccio leads Section VI in Class B state cross country

A fourth-place finish by West Seneca East senior Vinny Pagliaccio led Section VI to second place in Class B in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association cross country championships Saturday in Plattsburgh.

Section VI had 298 points. Section IV won the Class B title with 269 points.

Pioneer/Holland sophomore Brody Jones was 11th (15:09.9) and Pioneer/Holland senior Jared Hediger was 15th (15:12.07).

East Aurora finished fourth with 100 points, behind winner Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake from Section II, which had 44 points.

Senior Alex Hillyard was the top EA finisher at 19th overall in 15:19.8. Fellow EA senior Nicholas Ebling was 22nd in 15:22.8.

Other local finishers: 24. Justin Pavan, Lewiston-Porter, 15:25.1; 27. Jack Lenz, Amherst, 15:30.2; 54. Evan Owens, Amherst, 15:30.2; 59. Thomas Wldoraczyk, East Aurora, 16:02.6; 63. Jacob Sigeti, East Aurora, 16;04.7; 75. Finnian Cosgrove, East Aurora, 16:26.6; 86. Gavin McPherson, East Aurora, 16:46.1.

Class A boys

Josh Peron from Frontier led WNY finishers, coming in 33rd in 15:18.1. Lockport's Owen White was 43rd in 15:23.7.

Lancaster finished ninth, led by senior Jared Rogalski, who was 60th overall in 15:44.3, and sophomore Zack Winnicki, who was 66th in 15:50.1

Section VI was ninth overall.

Other local finishers: 68. Jack Heraty, Orchard Park, 15:52.3; 86. Brian Gleason, Frontier, 16:09.6; 91. Collin Rice, Lancaster, 16:14.6; 98. Thomas Reid, Lancaster, 16:30.2; 102. Drew Carlson, Jamestown, 16:45.7; 105. Evan Maher, Lancaster, 16:56.9; 106. Steven Blatto, Lancaster, 17:07.3; 108. Reed Lasker, Lancaster, 17:42.5.

Class C boys

Three top-10 finishers led by Alden sophomore Kyle Urban helped Section VI to a second-place finish with 317 points. Section III was the winner with 309.

Urban was seventh in 15:08.7, followed by Alden senior Cameron Eastland in 15:19.3 and Jared Hecht from Springville Griffin in 15:20.1. Dean Godios from Depew was 17th in 15:28.2 for the top performance at the state by a Depew runner in recent memory. Springville Griffin's Brett Russell was 18th in 15:29.8.

As a team, Southwestern was fifth with 119 points. Saranac Lake was the winner with 28.

Southwestern was led by senior Dagon Bryant, who was 28th overall in 15:504, followed by senior Eddie Scroxton in 16:08.3 for 41st and sophomore Trenton Shutters in 16:15.6 for 47th.

Other local finishers: 69. Nate Lewis, Southwestern, 16:37.4; 71. Ethan Luce, Southwestern, 16:39; 78. Brady Fye, Southwestern, 16:45.4; 90. Carter McKotch, Southwestern, 16:51.4.

Class D boys

Randolph senior Ronan McDonald finished fifth in 15:12.5 to lead Section VI to a third-place finish with 370 points. Section III was the winner with 144, followed by Section V with 248.

Barker's Peter DiLorenzo finished 21st in 16:05.5

Maple Grove was fourth as a team led by sophomore Lukas Baer in 16:14.9, good for 27th, and senior Riley Auer in 16:19.7, good for 29th.

Other local finishers: 36. Josh Walters, Randolph, 16:37.6; 39. Darius Jones, Maple Grove, 16:41.6; 40. Drew Kelemen, Maple Grove, 16:46.7; 51. Mason Allee-Castro, Barker, 17:05; 60. Nick Brunevas, Maple Grove, 17:05; 62. Toby Gifford, Frewsburg, 17:26.9; 78. Alex Crist, Maple Grove, 17:55.2.

You can view full results for the boys meet by clicking here.

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment