Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo

Few competitive races in City of Tonawanda elections

Just two of seven races are competitive in this fall's election in the City of Tonawanda.

All five Common Council seats are on the ballot, but three of the candidates are unopposed: Council President Jenna Koch, 2nd Ward Councilwoman Dawn Kammerdeiner and 4th Ward Councilman David Mileham, all Democrats.

Republican 1st Ward Councilman Thomas A. Newman is endorsed for re-election against Democrat Colleen R. Perkins, a former councilwoman. Newman also has the Conservative and Independence party lines while Perkins also has the Working Families line.

3rd Ward Councilman Michael R. Young isn't running again. Former Councilman Sean Rautenstrauch is taking on former Mayor Ronald J. Pilozzi. Rautenstrauch has the Democratic, Working Families and Green party lines while Pilozzi has the Republican, Conservative and Independence party lines.

City Attorney S. Michael Rua is running unopposed. City Treasurer Joseph Hogenkamp isn't seeking re-election and Democrat William J. Reece faces no opposition for the post.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment