Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Oct. 19, 2019

The Buffalo Spooktacular Regional Tournament continues today, Saturday, Oct. 19, in the Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly the Adam’s Mark Hotel), 120 Church St. Starting times for pairs and team games is 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. It concludes with Swiss teams at 10 a.m. Sunday, Oct. 20. For details, click this link.

• • •

The Airport Bridge Club awards extra-point games at no extra charge Monday, Oct. 21, through next Saturday, Oct. 26. A 10 a.m. lesson precedes the game Wednesday, Oct. 23, which starts at noon.

• • •

The Bridge Center of Buffalo begins a series of four lessons on defense and declarer play taught by Kathy Pollock at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22. For info, email BridgeKat@gmail.com.

• • •

Want to know where to play bridge or how to learn the game? Info is available from John Bava of Western New York Unit 116 at 908-256-6466 or email jbava@roadrunner.com.

• • •

The Delaware Wednesday Club now plays its games to the Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive at Sweet Home Road, Amherst. Games at 7 p.m. each Wednesday are invitational.

• • •

Tournament calendar

2019 

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Today, Saturday, Oct. 19, and Sunday, Oct. 20. For info, click this link.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5865 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 5, to Sunday, Nov. 10. For info, click this link.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Health and Senior Services Building, 2465 Bonadent Drive, Waterloo. Saturday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 17. For info, click this link.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, to Sunday, Dec. 15.

2020

Toronto Intermediate/Novice Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Friday, Jan. 3, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 5, 2020. For info, click this link.

Toronto New Year Sectional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Friday, Jan. 3, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 5, 2020. For info, click this link.

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 19, 2020. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 24, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 26, 2020. For info, click this link.

St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 7, 2020, to Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, March 28, 2020, and Sunday, March 29, 2020.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, April 7, 2020, to Sunday, April 12, 2020.

Rochester Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Friday, April 17, 2020, and Saturday, April 18, 2020.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 24, 2020, to Sunday, April 26, 2020.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, 2020, to Monday, May 25, 2020.

Ithaca Sectional – Saturday, June 13, 2020, and Sunday, June 14, 2020.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 26, 2020, to Sunday, June 28, 2020.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 7, 2020, to Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 11, 2020, and Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn Syracuse, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 10, 2020, to Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 15, 2020, and Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2020, to Monday, Sept. 7, 2020.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 11, 2020, to Sunday, Sept. 13, 2020.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 3, 2020, and Sunday, Oct. 4, 2020.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2020, to Sunday, Oct. 25, 2020.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca County Office Building, 1 DiPronio Drive, Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 7, 2020, and Sunday, Nov. 8, 2020.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, 2020, to Sunday, Nov. 15, 2020.

2021

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021, to Sunday, Jan. 10, 2021.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 22, 2021, to Sunday, Jan. 24, 2021.

St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 12, 2021, to Sunday, Feb. 14, 2021.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, March 30, 2021, to Sunday, April 4, 2021.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 16, 2021, to Sunday, April 18, 2021.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 25, 2021, to Monday, May 31, 2021.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Intermediate/Novice Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 4, 2021, to Sunday, June 6, 2021.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 6, 2021, to Sunday, July 11, 2021.

Rochester Regional – RIT Inn and Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Monday, Aug. 2, 2021, to Sunday, Aug. 8, 2021.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 21, 2021, and Sunday, Aug. 22, 2021.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2021, to Monday, Sept. 8, 2021.

Great Lakes Sectional – Erie Bridge Center, 1221 Grant Ave., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 11, 2021, and Sunday, Sept. 12, 2021.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 17, 2021, to Sunday, Sept. 19, 2021.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2021, to Sunday, Oct. 24, 2021.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021, to Sunday, Nov. 14, 2021.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, 2021, to Sunday, Nov. 15, 2021.

• • •

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

• • •

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.

Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks sometimes cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/

The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.

Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is 716-849-4420.

• • •

Now a Gold Life Master, Dale Anderson reached a career milestone of 2,500 master points in January. He blogs about his quest for the next measure of achievement, Emerald Life Master (3,500 points), and other bridge adventures here.

• • •

Duplicate scores
Week of Oct. 7 to Oct. 13
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Linda Burroughsford and Alan Greer, 58.63%; Bob Sommerstein and Allen Beroza, 55.65%; B: Nancy Kessler and John Kirsits, 52.68%; Nadine Stein and Judie Bailey, 47.92%; C: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 43.15%; east-west, A: Martin Pieterse and Mike Silverman, 61.61%; David Donaldson and Ken Meier, 57.14%; Barbara Libby and Art Matthies, 55.65%; B: Bill Boardman and Joe Rooney, 55.06%; C: Alex Miller and Marilyn Sultz, 41.96%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Linda Burroughsford and John Ziemer, 58.75%; B/C: David Donaldson and Paul Zittel, 55.83%; east-west, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 64.58%; B/C: Linda Zittel and Jan Hasselback, 60%; Sharon Chang and Ron Henrikson, 52.50%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – John Bava and Art Matthies, 61.46%; Janet Frisch and Dale Anderson, 56.25%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Allen Beroza, 52.08%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 65.77%; B: Nancy Kessler and Dale Anderson, 55.65%; C: Ruth Kozower and Ed Drozen, 54.46%; east-west, A/B/C: Sandi England and David Donaldson, 61.01%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – A: Joe Rooney and Bill Boardman, 58.22%; John Ziemer and Vic Bergsten, 57.30%; Barbara Libby and Ruth Wurster, 57.13%; B: Judy Kaprove and Nadine Stein, 53.48%; Kamil Bishara and John Welte, 51.17%; C: Dorothy and Larry Soong, 47.69%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – A: Barbara Libby and Allen Beroza, 65.48%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 60.71%; Cleveland Fleming and Dale Anderson, 55.95%; B/C: Usha Khurana and Ron Henrikson, 50%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday afternoon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B: Joanne Nover and Janet Desmon, 63.99%; C: Bill Noltee and David Schott, 52.38%; east-west, A: Jini and John Rubenstein, 66.07%; Carla Press and Agi Maisel, 59.52%; B: Jane and Bruce Roberts, 58.63%; Marcia Wright and Ginger Maiman, 49.11%; C: Judy Reich and Sandra Morrison, 41.37%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – A: Saleh Fetouh and Jay Costello, 59.38%; B: Christy Kellogg and Jim Gullo, 53.13%; Kathy Pollock and Bill Rushmore, 52.50%; C: Audrey Ray and Mike Ryan, 50.96%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday afternoon – 999er game. North-south, A/B/C: Betty DeFeo and Rose Ann Grimaldi, 59.11%; Audrey Ray and Carol Roth, 57.79%; east-west, A: Bill Rich and Vince Taeger, 63.10%; B/C: Terry and Bram Hamovitch, 59.80%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – Victory Point Game. (3-way tie) Manju Ceylony and Shakeel Ahmad, Chris Urbanek and Jeff Bender, Bert Hargeshimer and Alex Kowal, 2 wins.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south, A/B: Ten-Pao Lee and John Sinclair, 68.45%; C: Terry Fraas and Sue Neubecker, 53.27%; east-west, A: (tie) Judy Graf and Mike Ryan, Davis Heussler and Fred Yellen, 61.90%; C: Carol Bedell and Tova Reinhorn, 58.63%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday afternoon – A: Manju Ceylony and Shakeel Ahmad, 66.86%; B: Tova and Andrei Reinhorn, 54.49%; C: Lynn Witmer and Paul Morgante, 48.21%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Sunday afternoon – North-south, A: Chris Urbanek and Penny Shui, 67.99%; Nancy Wolsoncroft and Barbara Libby, 63.83%; B: Claire Gareleck and Helen Sloan, 61.93%; C: Doanne Jackson and Shirley Thompson, 57.20%; east-west, A: Davis Heussler and Cleveland Fleming, 61.74%; Glenn Milgrim and Ten-Pao Lee, 60.23%; B: Joyce Frayer and Ed Harman, 59.47%; Ron Henrikson and Ed Morgan, 53.98%; C: Rajinder Puri and P. Joshi, 52.08%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Bob and Joan Ciszak, 63.54%; Pat Rogers and Paul Zittel, 56.25%; Ken Meier and Joe Rooney, 53.13%; Pat Rasmus and Dave Larcom, 51.04%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A: Terry Fraas and Dian Petrov, 61.50%; B: Carol Bedell and Betty Metz, 54.50%; C: Stuart Caswell and William Castle, 53.50%; east-west, A: Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 69.50%; B: Judy Graf and Sharon Benz, 58.50%; C: Audrey Ray and Mike Ryan, 42%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Saleh Fetouh and Terry Fraas, 63.43%; Eugene Giorgini and Jim Lanzo, 62.04%; John and Barbara Scott, 55.56%; Joyce Kindt and Paul Capen, 52.78%; Jan O’Mara and Walter Olszewski, 48.15%; Miriam Regnet and Carole Layer, 46.76%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Jim Lanzo and Paul Capen, 59.03%; Jim and Paula Jones, 55.56%; Bob Linn and John Scott, 50.69%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 50%.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 65%; Elaine LaVigne and Cindy Darone, 55%; east-west, Mary Banks and Ron Fill, 59%; Fritz Schweiger and Joanne Zavarella, 53%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, George Mayers and Marian Morber, 58%; Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 52%; east-west, Phyllis and Alan Vogt, 56%; Ron Fill and Mary Banks, 55%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Perry Hoffman and Sukhanand Jain, 56.9%; Sandy Recoon and Fred Nadel, 54.2%; east-west, Harry Metcalf and Bob Kaiser, 62.5%; Joan Mack and Dick Munschauer, 44.4%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – North-south, Angela Price and Rita Spada, 54%; Linda Vassallo and Wilson McClaren, 53%; east-west, George Dorigo and Bob Stroman, 59%; Ellen Lochead and Bill Westley, 53%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Rose Bochiechio and Edna Fill, 69.4%; (tie) Joanne Zavarella and Fritz Schweiger, Edna Henrich and Thelma Frauenhofer, 56.9%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment