Share this article

print logo

Kick-Off bowling set for Thursday at Airport Lanes

Mike Zarcone will be among the Bowler of the Year honorees in ceremonies prior to the Greater Buffalo USBC Association Kick-Off Tournament Thursday at AMF Airport Lanes in Cheektowaga.

Nicole (Bongiovanni) Labombard will join Zarcone as the other adult bowler honoree, while youth winners Ryan Lent and Paige Bartosz also will receive their awards.

It will be the sixth time Zarcone is honored as the Male Bowler of the Year by the association, but his first since 2014. The Town of Tonawanda resident's 237.63 composite average was second in the GBUSBC for men. Zarcone was runner-up in the George A. Obenauer Masters Tournament and led Scratch Singles and Scratch 6-game Combine and was a Scratch and Handicap Doubles champion (with Matt Zasowski) in the 2019 City Open Championship.

Labombard won the WNY Queens Tournament Division I title, and her 215.50 composite average was fourth in the association.

Bartosz, who bowled at Orchard Park High and will be a freshman at Daemen College, posted a 204.27 composite average second in the association for youth females.

Lent 's 215.04 composite average was second in the association among youth males. He bowled at Maryvale High. Lent had an 811 high series and a 300 game on his record.

Zarcone and three other past winners of the Obenauer Masters are among 38 entries in the Men's Scratch Division of the Kick-Off Tournament. Jack Jurek, the 2019 Obie winner, Pat Brick and Tony Dolan are the others entered in the invitation event. Andy Rettig, the 2019 Kick-Off Men's champion, will be back to defend his title.

The Women's Scratch Division field of 20 includes seven GBUSBC Hall of Fame bowlers - Sue Jeziorski, Janette Piesczynski, Sue Nawojski, Peggy Kuhn, Holly Parrish, Sandie Snyder and Ruth Wooliver -- as well as Labombard, Bartosz and past Bowler of the Year winner Julie Selk and last year's Kick-Off winner Tammy Burgstahler, who won the event for the third time in the last 10 years.

Besides the scratch divisions, there will be a 20-bowler Handicap Division. Kelly Cycon of Lancaster, last year's handicap champion, is among the entries.

Opening ceremonies and introduction of the Bowlers of the Year will be a 6:45 p.m. Bowling will begin at 7 p.m. with two qualifying games to determine the three eight-bowler brackets for single-elimination matches, which will begin at 8:30 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment