Share this article

print logo

Ron Jaworski, Bill Bergey, Joe Ehrmann headline Section VI Hall of Fame inductees

They helped the Philadelphia Eagles take flight decades before the organization finally won the Super Bowl, but Ron Jaworski and Bill Bergey were standout scholastic athletes in Western New York long before reaching the NFL. So, too, was Joe Ehrmann.

It is because of their days as teens making plays on the gridiron that the trio highlight this year’s class of inductees into the Section VI Hall of Fame. They are three of 14 who will be honored Dec. 6 during the sixth annual Section VI Hall of Fame dinner at the Columns Banquets in Elma.

Jaworski and Bergey were members of the 1980 Eagles team that lost in the Super Bowl to the Oakland Raiders. Ehrmann played for the Baltimore Colts and Detroit Lions from 1973-82 and played three more years in the USFL. All three are members of the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame.

Long before reaching the pros, Jaworski shined for Lackawanna High School, where he was a star in three sports. He opted to attend Youngstown State instead of pouncing on an opportunity to sign a pro baseball contract with the St. Louis Cardinals.

He played in the NFL from 1973-89 – attaining most of his success during his tenure with the Eagles (1977-86). He is a member of the Eagles Hall of Fame and at one point held the record for most consecutive starts by a QB (since broken by Brett Favre, Peyton Manning, Eli Manning, Philip Rivers and Joe Flacco).

A longtime ESPN broadcaster, he now has part ownership in golf courses in the south New Jersey-Pennsylvania area and also is part owner of the Philadelphia Soul of the Arena Football League.

Bergey is a 1964 alumnus of Pine Valley. Born in Gowanda, Bergey was a standout football and basketball player at PV. He went on to having no scholarship offers for college to earning first team All-American honors at linebacker in 1968 at Arkansas State. A second-round pick in the 1969 draft by the Cincinnati Bengals, Bergey was a tireless worker who earned first-team All-Pro twice, second-team All-Pro three times, five Pro Bowls and is a member of the Eagles Hall of Fame.

Ehrmann shined at Riverside as a four-year starter on both sides of the ball. A defensive tackle in the NFL, he's a member of the All-Century Team at Syracuse and was the 10th overall pick in the 1973 draft by the Colts.

Other members of this year’s Hall of Fame class are:

  • Cheryl Bailey of Southwestern (contributor)
  • Late Sweet Home Athletic Director Robert P. Barczak (administrator)
  • Paul A. Borkowski of Alden (coach)
  • The late Tommy Colella of Albion (athlete)
  • J. Peter Dygert of BOCES (contributor)
  • Francis “Fran” Hagerty of Niagara Wheatfield (athlete)
  • Richard W. Harvey of Kenmore West (coach)
  • Hal Ruppert of Starpoint (administrator)
  • Charles M. Senn of Cattaraugus-Little Valley (coach)
  • William M. Stedman of Barker (administrator)
  • The late Janice Sackett Williams of Akron

Tickets for the dinner cost $30 and reservations must be made by Nov. 19. To reserve tickets, contact or call 821-7581.

There are no comments - be the first to comment