Share this article

print logo

Letter: Saban earned a spot in football Hall of Fame

Each year eight men get selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The HOF board of trustee’s approved a one-time proposal to increase the amount to 20 members for the 2020 class.

Coach Lou Saban should be the 2020 class. Saban led the Buffalo Bills to consecutive American Football League titles in 1964 and 1965. They are the only championships in franchise history.

During Saban’s first year in Buffalo he was instrumental in Cookie Gilchrist becoming the first 1,000-yard rusher in NFL history. In 1973, Saban assembled the Electric Company that paved the way for O.J. Simpson to become the first running back to rush for more than 2,000 yards in a season.

Often overlooked is Saban’s track record of being drawn to improve underperforming programs before moving to the next coaching challenge in the collegiate and professional ranks.

Saban was the athletic director at the University of Miami who recruited Jim Kelly. Kelly would become a Hall of Fame quarterback for the Bills.

George Steinbrenner hired Saban to be the president of the New York Yankees. In 1994, Saban was selected to the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame. In 2015 Saban’s name was added to the Wall of Fame at Ralph Wilson Stadium.

In 2020 Saban should be selected into the Hall of Fame for his lifelong dedication and contributions to the game of football.

Joe Cyran


There are no comments - be the first to comment