Share this article

print logo

High School Extra: Hamburg, Lew-Port earn NYSPHSAA honors

Hamburg, Lew-Port earn NYSPHSAA honors
Hamburg and Lewiston-Porter are among 35 schools from across the state to make the New York State Public High Schools Athletic Association Scholar-Athlete Schools of Distinction list for the 2018-19 academic year.

Schools earn School-of-Distinction status by having 100% of varsity teams qualify for and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award during their respective seasons.

In addition, 19 Section VI schools earned the School of Excellence Award with 75% of the school’s varsity teams qualifying for the Scholar-Athlete team award.

There were 135 schools from across the state on the Schools of Excellence list.

Schools of Excellence from Section VI are: Alden, Allegany-Limestone, Clarence, East Aurora, Frontier, Holland, Maryvale, Medina, Niagara Wheatfield, Olean, Pioneer, Portville, Royalton-Hartland, Starpoint, West Seneca West, Williamsville East, Williamsville North, Williamsville South and Wilson.

Camacho to coach Holland
Brandon Camacho will be the new boys varsity basketball coach at Holland. He succeeds Tim Buckenmeyer. Camacho was an assistant coach at Iroquois.

A 2016 graduate of Houghton College, Camacho played four seasons of basketball there. A guard, Camacho scored 901 points in 84 career games for the Highlanders.

He is a graduate of Dundee High School in the Finger Lakes region.

Grnd Island goalie signs with GCC
Goalkeeper Amanda Lawrence of Grand Island signed with Genesee Community College. She is the first goalkeeper to ever sign with GCC for women’s lacrosse.

Lawrence had a .603 save percentage and 140 stops in her senior season at Grand Island.
She also played doubles in tennis for the Vikings in the fall.

There are no comments - be the first to comment