Share this article

print logo

How The News voted in the NHL Awards

LAS VEGAS – Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association voted for full transparency in balloting for the NHL Awards in 2018, with all votes for each award being publicly revealed after the conclusion of the ceremony.

Here are the ballots of the two voting members of The Buffalo News Sports Department for the awards that were handed out Wednesday in Mandalay Bay Events Center. Ballots were due prior to the first game of the Stanley Cup playoffs.

Hart Trophy (MVP)

Mike Harrington
1. Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay)
2. Patrick Kane (Chicago)
3. Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary)
4. Alex Ovechkin (Washington)
5. Connor McDavid (Edmonton)

Lance Lysowski
1. Kucherov
2. Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh)
3. Gaudreau
4. P. Kane
5. McDavid


Norris Trophy (best defenseman)

Mike Harrington
1. Mark Giordano (Calgary)
2. John Carlson (Washington)
3. Brent Burns (San Jose)
4. Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay)
5. Morgan Rielly (Toronto)

Lance Lysowski
1. Giordano
2. Carlson
3. Hedman
4. Burns
5. Kris Letang, Pittsburgh


Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year)

Mike Harrington
1. Elias Pettersson (Vancouver)
2. Jordan Binnington (St. Louis)
3. Rasmus Dahlin (Buffalo)
4. Miro Heiskanen (Dallas)
5. Brady Tkachuk (Ottawa)

Lance Lysowski
1. Pettersson
2. Dahlin
3. Binnington
4. Heiskanen
5. Tkachuk


Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship/gentlemanly conduct)

Mike Harrington
1. Aleksander Barkov (Florida)
2. Ryan O'Reilly (St. Louis)
3. Matt Duchene (Columbus)
4. Sean Monahan (Calgary)
5. Jason Pominville (Buffalo)

Lance Lysowski
1. O'Reilly
2. Barkov
3. Patrice Bergeron (Boston)
4. Monahan
5. Kopitar


Selke Trophy (Defensive forward)

Mike Harrington
1. Mark Stone (Vegas)
2. O'Reilly
3. Bergeron
4. Mikael Backlund (Calgary)
5. Crosby

Lance Lysowski
1. Crosby
2. Stone
3. O'Reilly
4. Bergeron
5. Barkov

Story topics: / / / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment