Share this article

print logo

Seven Bandits up for National Lacrosse League awards

Buffalo Bandits goalie Matt Vinc is one of three nominees on the ballot for National Lacrosse League Most Valuable Player and six other members of the organization are on the ballot in other categories.

The winners of each award will be announced at the end of the voting period.

Besides Vinc, who also is a candidate for Goalie of the Year, Ian MacKay, Steve Priolo, co-head coaches John Tavares and Rich Kilgour and team executives Steve Dietrich and Dave Zygai are other Bandits personnel up for awards.

MacKay is one of three Rookie of the Year nominees. Priolo is one of three Defense Player of the Year nominees. Tavares and Kilgour are among the nominees for the Les Bartlwy Award as Head Coach of the Year.

Dietrich is one of three nominees for General Manager of the Year and Zygai is one of three Executive of the Year nominees.

Also, there are three nominess for the Tom Borrelli Award for the Media Person of the Year. They are Bob Chavez of IL Indoor, Tyson Geick of Lacrosse Flash and Jordan Demcher of Barstool Sports. The award is present in memory of the late Buffalo News sports writer who covered the Bandits.

No Bandits were among the finalists for NLL Transition Player and Teammate of the Year or for the Sportsmanship Award.

Honorees will be determined by a vote of NLL coaches, general managers and team executives.

The voting deadline was not disclosed.

There are no comments - be the first to comment