Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo

Two golds for Canisius among four for WNY crews in NYS Regatta

Four local crews including two from Canisius won gold medals over the weekend in the New York State Scholastic Rowling Championships on Fish Creek in Saratoga Springs.

The Canisius varsity lightweight four of Charlie Korn, Zach Porter, Zach Mecca, Nathaniel Sass and coxswain John Weckerle finished first in 5:11.600, nearly 8 seconds better than the next boat, RowAmerica B from Rye.

The Crusaders junior eight triumphed and also earned a place in the Scholastic Rowing Association of America national championshipS in Ohio in two weeks.

James Oh, Oscar Neil, Riley Eagan, Jed Dietrich, Andrew Skakal, Connor Long, Aiden Hart-Nova, Jeffrey Mueller and coxswain Owen Wittman were in the winning boat.

St. Joe’s freshman eight and City Honors women’s junior four also won gold medals. It was St. Joe’s first gold at the NYS championship. A novice eight from the West Side Rowing Club and a lightweight eight from Nardin took silvers.

St. Joe’s second varsity eight took a bronze as did the West Side women’s junior eight. The Canisius junior four was fourth overall but took the bronze in the scholastic category.

Also among the nine Buffalo area crews competing in the NYS Regatta were Nichols, Buffalo Scholastic Rowing Association, Mount St. Mary and Buffalo Seminary.

All eight Canisius boats qualified for finals and five will move on to the SSRAA nationals.

Trojans' win tightens Class C boys lax race

Zach Arnone. Tyler Arndt and Shaun Dolac scored the last three goals of the game to give West Seneca East a come-from-behind 13-11 victory over first place East Aurora on Monday in a game moved to West Seneca West.

The outcome tightened the Class C League boys lacrosse race. West Seneca East, Amherst and Iroquois are all one loss behind East Aurora in the standings. Iroquois and East Aurora will meet on Wednesday.

The winning Trojans overcame a 6-1 first quarter deficit and tied the game at 8-8 in the third quarter. It was tied at 10 before EA took an 11-10 lead.

Arnone had two goals and five assists, Colin Schmatz had four goals and an assist and Dolac had three goals and two assists for coach Jimmy Maisano’s WSE team.

Caleb Maloney scored a pair of goals and had three assist for Akron in a 17-10 boys lacrosse win over Medina. The Tigers (10-4, 6-2 Class D) finished one game behind Salamanca (7-1) in the D division standings with the regular season league schedule complete.

Quinn Harrington scored five goals and had an assist for Eden in a 12-5 over Grand Island in nonleague boys lacrosse.

Legends girls clinch D-1 girls lax title

Lancaster clinched the Section VI Division I girls lacrosse league championship with a 16-14 victory in a showdown game at Clarence. A second loss in division play eliminated the Red Devils.

Maddie Mazur scored six goalsl while Jordan Rokitkia had four goals and two assists for the Legends. Anevay Rice had five goals for Clarence.

"A couple of defenders, Camryn Lucarelli and Paige Szymusiak really stepped up for us and a did a nice job for us," said Lancaster coach Julie Buccieri.

Niagara Wheatfield’s Jocelyn Fike scored seven goals and added an assist in the Falcons’ 13-7 girls lacrosse victory on Monday over Grand Island. Hannah Wilson made nine saves for N-W.

Niagara Falls picked up its first win in a Division I league game, defeating winless North Tonawanda, 15-6. Joey Baillie and Maggie Bilquin each scored four times for the Wolverines.

EA team to be honored by Butler-Mitchell Alumni

The East Aurora boys swimming team will receive the Al Guarnieri Memorial Cup for academic excellence at noon on June 9 at Salvatore’s Italian Garden. The Guarnieri Cup is presented by the Butler Mitchell Alumni

East Aurora has won 50 straight ECIC division titles in the sport.

Contact committee chairman Joe Lotempio at for ticket information.

MSM, Sharks meet for title

Mount St. Mary, undefeated in league play, and Sacred Heart, the defending champion, will decide the Monsignor Martin Association girls lacrosse playoffs title at 6 p.m. Tuesday night at the Canisius College Demske Athletic Complex.


There are no comments - be the first to comment