Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: April 13, 2019

The Toronto Easter Regional Tournament begins Tuesday, April 16, in the Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, and continues through Easter Sunday, April 21. For info, click this link.

• • •

The Airport Bridge Club offers extra points its game at noon today, Saturday, April 13, and all of its games at 11 a.m. Monday to Friday at no extra charge.

• • •

Seniors are invited to join friendly afternoon games of bridge at three senior centers in the South Towns. Some experience in playing the game is required, but players do not need to come with a partner. Games are played at 12:30 p.m. Mondays in the Orchard Park Senior Center, 70 Linwood Ave.; at 12:30 p.m. Tuesdays in the Hamburg Senior Center, 4540 Southwestern Blvd.; and on Wednesdays in the West Seneca Senior Center, 4620 Seneca St. For more info, call 316-9216 or email chetzler@roadrunner.com.

• • •

The Delaware Wednesday Club has moved its games to the Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive at Sweet Home Road, Amherst. Games at 7 p.m. each Wednesday are invitational.

• • •

Tournament calendar

2019 

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus Hall, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Today, Saturday, April 13, and Sunday, April 14. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 16, to Sunday, April 21. For info, click this link.

Unit 112 199er Sectional – Strathallen Hotel, 550 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 19, and Saturday, April 20. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Non-Life Master Sectional – Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 21, to Monday, May 27. For info, click this link.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Non-Life Master Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Lane, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, May 31, to Sunday, June 2. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Kendal at Ithaca, 2230 N. Triphammer Road, Ithaca. Saturday, June 1, and Sunday, June 2. For info, click this link.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, to Sunday, June 16.

Unit 166 Summer Regional – Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto Airport & Conference Centre, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto. Tuesday, July 2, to Sunday, July 7. For info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, July 13, and Sunday, July 14. For info, click this link.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 20, and Sunday, July 21. For info, click this link.

Rochester Regional – RIT Inn & Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Tuesday, Aug. 5, to Sunday, Aug. 11. For info, click this link.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 17, and Sunday, Aug. 18. For info, click this link.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 3, to Sunday, Sept. 9. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Sept. 20, to Sunday, Sept. 22.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, Sept. 28, and Sunday, Sept. 29.

Great Lakes Sectional – Erie Bridge Center, 1221 Grant Ave., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 28, and Sunday, Sept. 29.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 15, to Sunday, Oct. 20. For info, click this link.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5865 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 5, to Sunday, Nov. 10. For info, click this link.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 17.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, to Sunday, Dec. 15.

2020

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 12, 2020.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 24, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 26, 2020.

St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 7, 2020, to Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, March 28, 2020, and Sunday, March 29, 2020.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, April 7, 2020, to Sunday, April 12, 2020.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Friday, April 17, 2020, and Saturday, April 18, 2020.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 24, 2020, to Sunday, April 26, 2020.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, 2020, to Monday, May 25, 2020.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 5, 2020, to Sunday, June 7, 2020.

Ithaca Sectional – Saturday, June 13, 2020, and Sunday, June 14, 2020.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 7, 2020, to Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 11, 2020, and Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn Syracuse, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 10, 2020, to Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 15, 2020, and Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2020, to Sunday, Sept. 7, 2020.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 11, 2020, to Sunday, Sept. 13, 2020.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 3, 2020, and Sunday, Oct. 4, 2020.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2020, to Sunday, Oct. 25, 2020.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca County Office Building, 1 DiPronio Drive, Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 7, 2020, and Sunday, Nov. 8, 2020.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, 2020, to Sunday, Nov. 15, 2020.

• • •

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

• • •

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks sometimes cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is 716-849-4420.

• • •

Now a Gold Life Master, Dale Anderson reached a career milestone of  2,500 master points in January. He blogs about his quest for the next measure of achievement, Emerald Life Master (3,500 points), and other bridge adventures here.

• • •

Duplicate scores
Week of April 1 to April 7
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A/B: Tova and Andrei Reinhorn, 60.83%; Judie Bailey and Ruth Wurster, 57.92%; east-west, A/B: Dorothy May and Dale Anderson, 59.17%; C: Barbara Multerer and Art Schumacher, 50%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 58.75%; B: Linda Zittel and Ruth Wurster, 56.25%; east-west, A: Art Matthies and Mike Silverman, 61.67%; B: (tie) Gay Simpson and John Bava, Sandi England and Barbara Libby, 50.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – A: Bill Boardman and Alan Greer, 56.02%; Linda Burroughsford and Davis Heussler, 54.63%; B: Denise Slattery and Art Matthies, 54.17%; (tie) Pawan Matta and Ron Henrikson, Martha and John Welte, 53.70%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: John Ziemer and Allen Beroza, 70%; B/C: Joyce Greenspan and Gay Simpson, 57.50%; east-west, A: Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 68.75%; B: Sandi England and John Kirsits, 60%; Denise Slattery and Dale Anderson, 49.58%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 60.83%; Carla Press and Agi Maisel, 53.33%; Natalie Abramson and Marge Plumb, 50.42%; B: (tie) Pat Haynes and Terry Camp, JoAnne Nover and Bonnie Clement, 49.58%; east-west, A/B: Judith Babat and Laurie Foster, 61.25%; Joan Nigrelli and Gini Sicignano, 51.67%; Lynn Witmer and Rose Ann Grimaldi, 46.25%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – A/B: Gary Schmitt and Tova Reinhorn, 59.72%; Bill Rushmore and Art Morth, 56.48%; (tie) Bob Padgug and Jim Gullo, Donna Steffan and Judy Graf, 52.78%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 999er game. North-south, A: Usha Khurana and Joe Miranda, 58.07%; B: Violet and Jasbeer Makhija, 57.60%; Judith Babat and Laurie Foster, 56.03%; C: Rose Bochiechio and Bill Noltee, 52.21%; Rose Ann Grimaldi and Lynn Witmer, 48.10%; east-west, A/B: Vince Taeger and Bill Rich, 65.10%; C: Pat Haynes and Terry Camp, 54.89%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – A: Terry Fraas and Art Morth, 56.25%; B/C: Cathy Majewski and Peter Patterson, 55.21%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Sandi England and Joe Miranda, 59%; Joanne LaFay and Lillian Gotshall, 53%; John Fiegl and Merry Osterander, 52%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – A: (tie) Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, Sushil Amlani and Dian Petrov, 64.25%; B: Jeff Bender and Rajarshi Roy, 55.01%; C: Eugene Giorgini and Jim Lanzo, 45.49%.

Buffalo Spring Sectional Tournament – Leading local master point winners.
Mike Ryan, 22.05.
Bud Seidenberg, 18.11.
Chris Urbanek, 17.39.
Donna Steffan, 16.65.
John Ziemer, 16.40.
Jay Costello, 14.10.
Sharon Benz, 13.42.
Judy Graf, 13.01.
Fred Yellen, 12.39.
Saleh Fetouh, 9.34.
John Sinclair, 8.88.
Ed Morgan, 8.57.
John Bava, 8.57.
Stan Kozlowski, 7.77.
Judi Marshall, 7.63.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, George Mayers and Chuck Heimerl, 61%; Ellen Lochead and Bill Westley, 54%; east-west, Fritz Schweiger and Joanne Zavarella, 61%; Anita Fink and Freda Brummer, 59%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 59%; (tie) Jill and Bruce Brown, George Mayers and Marian Morber, 55%; east-west, (tie) Ron Fill and Mike Brown, Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 61%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukanhand Jain, 55.6%; Sandy Recoon and Fred Nadel, 54.2%; Joan Mack and Bob Kaiser, 51.4%; east-west, Perry Hoffman and Adele Denton, 65.8%; Carol Greigo and Nelson Torre, 55%; Judith Nichol and David Reeves, 51.7%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 58%; (tie) Marge McMillen and Mary Jane Luce, Wilson McClaren and Bob Stroman, 54%; Jane and Paul Garvey 53%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Edna Henrich and Ron Fill, 68.1%; Joanne Zavarella and Fritz Schweiger, 59.8%; Kay Brinkman and Jack Lang, 57%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com 

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment