Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Feb. 16, 2019

The Airport Bridge Club has two days with double sessions next week.

For Presidents Day on Monday, Feb. 18, the club will have a pairs game at 10 a.m. and an extra-point pairs game at 1:15 p.m.

On Wednesday, Feb. 20, there also will be a pairs game at 10 a.m., followed by the ACBL-wide Charity Game at 1:15 p.m., with hand records, analysis and bonus points for winners at the district level.

The club also will offer an extra-point game at noon next Saturday, Feb. 23.

• • •

The Bridge Center of Buffalo will hold its monthly 1 p.m. Sunday game this weekend.

• • •

The Delaware Wednesday Club has moved its games to the Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive at Sweet Home Road, Amherst. Games at 7 p.m. each Wednesday are invitational.

• • •

Congratulations to Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, the Buffalo area players who won the most master points at the St. Catharines, Ont., Sectional Tournament last weekend. Tied for 42nd place overall, they earned 7.77 points.
Other Buffalo area partnerships doing well in St. Catharines included Sandi England and Ken Meier, both with 5.15 points; and Saleh Fetouh and Dian Petrov, both with 4.65. For complete results, click this link.

• • •

Tournament calendar

2019 

Buffalo Spring Sectional –Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, April 5, to Sunday, April 7. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus Hall, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 13, and Sunday, April 14. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 16, to Sunday, April 21. For info, click this link.

Unit 112 199er Sectional – Strathallen Hotel, 550 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 19, and Saturday, April 20. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 21, to Monday, May 27. For info, click this link.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Non-Life Master Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Lane, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, May 31, to Sunday, June 2. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – TBA. Saturday, June 1, and Sunday, June 2.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, to Sunday, June 16.

Unit 166 Summer Regional – Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto Airport & Conference Centre, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto. Tuesday, July 2, to Sunday, July 7. For more info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Knights of Columbus Hall, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, July 13, and Sunday, July 14.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. For info, click this link.

Rochester Regional – RIT Inn & Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Tuesday, Aug. 5, to Sunday, Aug. 11. For more info, click this link.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 17, and Sunday, Aug. 18.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 3, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Sept. 20, to Sunday, Sept. 22.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Knights of Columbus Hall, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, Sept. 28, and Sunday, Sept. 29.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 15, to Sunday, Oct. 20.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5865 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 5, to Sunday, Nov. 10. For info, click this link.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 17.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, to Sunday, Dec. 15.

2020

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 12, 2020.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 24, 2020, to Sunday, Jan. 26, 2020.

St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn and Suites Parkway Conference Center, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 7, 2020, to Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, March 28, 2020, and Sunday, March 29, 2020.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West. Tuesday, April 7, 2020, to Sunday, April 12, 2020.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Friday, April 17, 2020, and Saturday, April 18, 2020.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 24, 2020, to Sunday, April 26, 2020.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, 2020, to Monday, May 25, 2020.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, June 5, 2020, to Sunday, June 7, 2020.

Ithaca Sectional – Saturday, June 13, 2020, and Sunday, June 14, 2020.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 7, 2020, to Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 11, 2020, and Sunday, July 12, 2020.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn Syracuse, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 10, 2020, to Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

St. Catharines 299er Sectional – Bridge Centre of Niagara, 6-2E Tremont Drive, St. Catharines, Ont. Saturday, Aug. 15, 2020, and Sunday, Aug. 16, 2020.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – DoubleTree Pittsburgh-Green Tree, 500 Mansfield Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2020, to Sunday, Sept. 7, 2020.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 11, 2020, to Sunday, Sept. 13, 2020.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 3, 2020, and Sunday, Oct. 4, 2020.

Buffalo Regional – Buffalo Grand Hotel (formerly Adam's Mark), 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2020, to Sunday, Oct. 25, 2020.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca County Office Building, 1 DiPronio Drive, Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 7, 2020, and Sunday, Nov. 8, 2020.

Unit 255 Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Path, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, Nov. 13, 2020, to Sunday, Nov. 15, 2020.

• • •

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

• • •

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks sometimes cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is 716-849-4420.

• • •

Now a Gold Life Master, Dale Anderson reached a career milestone of  2,500 master points last month. He blogs about his quest for the next measure of achievement, Emerald Life Master (3,500 points), and other bridge adventures here.

• • •

Duplicate scores
Week of Feb. 4 to Feb. 10 
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Linda Burroughsford and Alan Greer, 61.31%; B: (3-way tie) Barbara Sadkin and Paula Kotowski, Sandi England and Linda Zittel, Martin Pieterse and Mike Silverman, 51.79%; C: Marilyn Sultz and Florence Boyd, 47.32%; east-west, A: Judi Marshall and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 56.35%; B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 56.08%; Dorothy and Larry Soong, 53.70%; Bill Boardman and Joe Rooney, 52.91%; C: Joanne LaFay and John Fiegl, 49.74%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – A: Linda Vassallo and Walt Olszewski, 60.26%; John Ziemer and Mike Ryan, 58.01%; B: Barbara Pieterse and Paula Kotowski, 57.37%; Joyce Greenspan and Barbara Sadkin, 55.13%; Martha and John Welte, 53.85%; C: Pawan Matta and Bill Boardman, 45.24%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – (Tie) Martha and John Welte, June Feuerstein and Dale Anderson, 57.74%; Ed Morgan and Alan Greer, 57.14%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Mike Silverman, 48.21%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – A: Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 61.57%; B: (tie) John Ziemer and Allen Beroza, Dorothy and Larry Soong, 56.94%; Gay Simpson and Denise Slattery, 54.17%; Rita Sofia and Joyce Greenspan, 53.70%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – A/B: Dorothy May and Bill Boardman, 67.71%; Sandi England and Ken Meier, 60.65%; C: Sharon Wilcox and Joyce Greenspan, 53.65%; Vic Bergsten and Walt Olszewski, 52.60%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – A: Martha and John Welte, 59.72%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 57.87%; Judi Marshall and Ron Henrikson, 54.63%; Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello, 51.39%; B: Rolene Pozarny and Joyce Greenspan, 50%; C: Alice Bragg and Cleveland Fleming, 47.69%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, Pat Haynes and Terry Camp, 56.67%; Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 54.58%; Paula Rosen and Judy Zeckhauser, 50.83%; east-west, JoAnne Nover and Rajarshi Roy, 64.58%; Susan Cardamon and Marcia Wright, 51.25%; (tie) Martha Quinn and Rose Bochiechio, Lynn Witmer and Bill Noltee, 45.42%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – Tova Reinhorn and Jim Gullo, 59.72%; Saleh Fetouh and Bob Padgug, 57.87%; Judy Padgug and Sharon Benz, 55.09%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 52.78%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 999er game. A: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 58.46%; Bill Rich and Joe Miranda, 57.09%; B/C: Judith Babat and Rivona Ehrenreich, 54.63%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargeshimer, 59%; Chris Urbanek and John Sinclair, 57%; B: Bill Rushmore and Art Morth, 55%; C: (tie) Henry Chudy and Peter Patterson, Terry Fraas and Rajarshi Roy, 50%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – Mike Ryan and Ten-Pao Lee, 57.87%; Stan Kozlowski and Chris Urbanek, 55.09%; (tie) Sharon Benz and Nancy Wolstoncroft, Claire Gareleck and Ginny Panaro, 53.70%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – (Tie) Barb Booi and Jane Larcom, Joe Miranda and Sandi England, 63%; John Fiegl and Merry Osterander, 56%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Mary Ball and Art Morth, 61.33%; Mike Ryan and Bob Linn, 55.68%; Betty Metz and Carol Bedell, 53.26%; Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 51.63%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – Jack Cukierman and Saleh Fetouh, 64.8%; Ed Harman and Sam Grossman, 55.6%; (tie) Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, Joyce Kindt and Anne O’Connor, 54.8%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Jasbeer amd Violet Makhija, 65.28%; Jim Lanzo and Jeff Bender, 56.25%; Walt Olszewski and Jan O’Mara, 54.86%; Roy Crocker and John Lewis, 50.69%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – (Tie) Bob Linn and Alex Ivanov, Jim Lanzo and Paul Capen, 60.42%; Kathy Fenn and Elve Johnston, 56.94%; Violet and Jasbeer Makhija, 54.86%.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Bill Westley and Kathy Borcek, 61%; George Mayers and Chuck Heimerl, 58%; east-west, Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 70%; Marv Feuerstein and Marian Morber, 49%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 60%; Rajinder Puri and Cindy Darone, 50%; east-west, Carl Gebauer and Marv Feuerstein, 61%; David Young and Tim Hartnett, 45%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukhanand Jain, 69.2%; Dottie Potembski and Jerry Stange, 59.2%; east-west, Bob Kaiser and Dick Munschauer, 66.7%; (tie) Betty Bowling and Bette Seifert, Vera Arrison and Mary Kloepfer, 52.1%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – (Tie) Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, Linda Vassallo and Wilson McClaren, 61%; Lata Maheshwari and Bob Jorgensen, 51%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com 

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment