Share this article

print logo

Niagara Falls Democrats decide on open primary for City Council

The Niagara Falls Democratic Committee made no endorsements of City Council candidates at its meeting Wednesday, instead deciding on an open primary.

Chairwoman Lisa A. Vitello said three candidates sent letters asking for an endorsement: Amber S. Hill, Alicia M. Kenyon and Donta L. Myles.

Two seats are to be filled in this year's election. The incumbents are Republican Kenneth M. Tompkins, who has announced his run for re-election, and Democrat Ezra P. Scott Jr., who sent Vitello a letter asking to be endorsed for mayor.

The committee also made no endorsement for mayor, setting up a potential primary among Board of Education President Robert M. Restaino, Community Development Director Seth A. Piccirillo and Scott, who has not publicly announced his candidacy.

There are no comments - be the first to comment