Share this article

print logo

UB's CJ Massinburg among 30 in consideration for top award

University at Buffalo guard CJ Massinburg is among 30 players in consideration for the Naismith Trophy, awarded to the men's basketball college player of the year. The midseason list was released Wednesday.

Massinburg is averaging a team-high 18.5 points per game along with 6.3 rebounds and three assists for the No. 25 Bulls.

He is the only player from the Mid-American Conference on the list. The ACC has seven players on the list and the Big East and Big Ten have four.

The list will be cut on March 6, with the four finalists named March 17 and the award will be presented April 7.

Here is the full list of 30:

Nickeil Alexander-Walker So. G Virginia Tech ACC
R.J. Barrett Fr. F Duke ACC
Phil Booth Sr. G Villanova BIG EAST
Ignas Brazdeikis Fr. F Michigan Big Ten
Jordan Caroline Sr. G/F Nevada Mountain West
Brandon Clarke Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Chris Clemons Sr. G Campbell Big South
Jarrett Culver So. G Texas Tech Big 12
Jarron Cumberland Jr. G Cincinnati AAC
Mike Daum Sr. F South Dakota State Summit League
Carsen Edwards Jr. G Purdue Big Ten
Kyle Guy Jr. G Virginia ACC
Rui Hachimura Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Ethan Happ Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Markus Howard Jr. G Marquette BIG EAST
De'Andre Hunter So. G Virginia ACC
Cameron Johnson Sr. G North Carolina ACC
Dedric Lawson Jr. F Kansas Big 12
Caleb Martin Sr. F Nevada Mountain West
CJ Massinburg Sr. G Buffalo MAC
Luke Maye Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Ja Morant G So. Murray State OVC
Eric Paschall Sr. F Villanova BIG EAST
Shamorie Ponds Jr. G St. John's BIG EAST
Admiral Schofield Sr. G Tennessee SEC
Marial Shayok Sr. G Iowa State Big 12
P.J. Washington So. F Kentucky SEC
Grant Williams Jr. F Tennessee SEC
Zion Williamson Fr. F Duke ACC
Cassius Winston Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten


Story topics: / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment