Share this article

print logo

Two NCAA track champions in Buffalo State Hall of Fame class

Two NCAA track champions and All-America selections in women'a lacrosse and men's soccer head the class of seven individuals to be inducted into the Buffalo State Athletics Hall of Fame. The Class of 2018 also includes the 1967 men's soccer team.
Erica Johnson (Class of 2012) and Sasha Henry ('13) captured NCAA Division III championships on the track. Karen Shaddock ('12), Buffalo's State all-time scorer inwomen's lacrosse and Mustapha Janeh ('83) a first team All-America selection in 1982 are also in the class. Warren Gassman ('67) a SUNYAC champion in singles and doubles also will be inducted along with honorary selectees, Dr. Hal D. Payne and Dr. Edwards Lazzaro ('64). Dr. Payne was vice president for student affairs for 27 years. Lazzaro is credited with forming the weightlifting program at the college.
The 1967 men's soccer team becomes just the second team to be inducted. The team finished 12-1-1 and claimed the Buffalo State's first-ever SUNYAC championship in the sport under coach Fred Hartrick. It was also the first team to reach the NCAA playoffs, advancing past Fairleigh Dickinson on corner kicks in a 1-1 draw, before falling, 2-1, to Navy.
The Hall of Fame induction will be held in the Campbell Student Union Social Hall on Friday, Oct. 5 with a cocktail reception from 6:30 – 7:15 followed by a sit-down dinner and the official induction ceremony.  Tickets are $20 and must be purchased in advance by contacting senior associate athletics director Tom Koller at 878-6514 or

There are no comments - be the first to comment