Share this article

print logo

What's in a number? With Moulson giving way to Dahlin, a history of Sabres who have worn 26

Rasmus Dahlin will become the 21st player in Sabres history to wear sweater No. 26.

The team announced that will be his number this season as it wrapped up his official introduction Monday in KeyBank Center.

The most recent 26 is veteran winger Matt Moulson, who is still technically on the Buffalo roster after spending most of last season on loan with the Ontario Reign of the AHL. General Manager Jason Botterill said after the news conference that Moulson will not be back this year but repeated what he said 10 days ago that Moulson will not be bought out.

"We'll work with him, just like we did last year, to try to find the best spot with him moving forward," Botterill said.

The Sabres could trade Moulson, especially to a team looking to reach the salary cap floor, and that could be attractive because this is the last year of his five-year, $25-million contract and he's only owed $2 million in salary. If the Sabres can't do that and find another loaner spot for Moulson, he would count $3.975 million against their cap rather than the full $5 million.

Moulson wore No. 26 when he was acquired in a trade for Thomas Vanek in October 2013 and got it back when he was signed as a free agent in July 2014. Vanek wore the number by far the longest of any player, from 2006-2014, and is easily the most notable Sabre to don it until Dahlin's arrival.

Other notable No. 26s include Derek Plante, whose overtime goal vs. Ottawa in 1997 gave the Sabres their only victory in a Game 7 in their history, former No. 1 draft pick Steve Patrick and NHL veterans such as Dave Maloney, Phil Russell, Richie Dunn and Eric Boulton.

Dahlin wore No. 26 with the Frölunda Indians in the Swedish league.

Rasmus Dahlin on his arrival in Buffalo: 'Finally I'm here'

The full list of 26s:

Larry Keenan, 1971
Randy Wyrozub, 1972
Derek Smith, 1976
Alex Tidey, 1977-78
Ken Breitenbach, 1979
Steve Patrick, 1981-85
Val James, 1982
Mal Davis, 1984
Dave Maloney, 1985
Phil Russell 1986-87
Pat Hughes, 1986
Bob Logan, 1987-88
Richie Dunn, 1989
Darrin Shannon, 1989
Dean Kennedy, 1990-91
Keith Carney, 1992
Derek Plante, 1994-99
Eric Boulton, 2001-04
Thomas Vanek, 2006-13
Matt Moulson 2013-17
Rasmus Dahlin 2018-


Story topics: / / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment