Share this article

print logo

Past champions make their presence felt during opening of Obenauer Masters

There are 12 past champions in the field for the 55th George A. Obenauer Masters Tournament. Seven of them find themselves in the top 14 of the event at AMF Airport Lanes.

Mike Faliero of West Seneca and Brad Angelo of Lockport stand 1-2 following the first of two nights of qualifying Tuesday night. Faliero, a two-time champion, rolled a four-game series of 928. Angelo, a four-time champ, trails by five pins.

Dana Voytovich of Cheektowaga stands third with a 913.

Former Obie champion Jack Jurek of Lackawanna stands fifth with 884. Pat Brick, who won in 2004, stands eighth (871), while Tonawanda's Mike Zarcone, the 2014 champion, is ninth with 867.

Three-time champ Ryan Ciminelli is 12th  with 854 while defending champion Kevin Bienko stands 14th with 844.

The top 14 all bowled in the late qualifying shift Tuesday.

Dave Tolkacz of Buffalo and Zane Tester of Lancaster shared the early lead after the 6:30 p.m. four-game block, posting sets of 831.

Qualifying resumes Wednesday. The top 32 after tonight's action advance to double-elimination match play, which begins Thursday. The tournament runs through Sunday.

There are no comments - be the first to comment