Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: April 21, 2018

 

Extra-point games will be offered at all games next week at Bridge Club Meridian, the Bridge Center of Buffalo and the Airport Bridge Club. The Airport Club has no extra fee.

*  *  *

Bridge Club Meridian has moved from its longtime venue at the Zion Church in the Town of Tonawanda to facilities at 209 S. Youngs Road, Amherst. Games are held every Monday at 10:30 a.m.

*  *  *

The ACBL Wide Charity Game, which offers bonus points at the district level for winners, will be played Wednesday morning, April 25, at the Bridge Center of Buffalo and the Airport Bridge Club.

*  *  *

The Bridge Center of Buffalo will hold a special game and going-away party for David Hemmer at 1 p.m. Sunday, April 29.
In May, the club will introduce Dual Flight "Masterpoint Explosion" Games on Tuesdays. There will be a new open game at noon, in addition to the current non-life master game, with extra master points for both sections. For details, visit BridgeCenterofBuffalo.com.

*  *  *

Congratulations to Davis Heussler, who topped the list of master point winners at last weekend's Buffalo Spring Sectional Tournament in the Main-Transit Fire Hall in Amherst. He earned 27.97 points.
Other local master point leaders included Bud Seidenberg, 23.40; Fred Yellen, 21.83; Saleh Fetouh, 17.04; David Colligan, 15.97; Judy Padgug, 14.21; Kathy Pollock, 11.92; Jay Costello, 11.21; and Chris Urbanek, 10.10. In all, 159 players collected points. For complete tournament results, click this link.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Rochester 199er Sectional – Strathallan Hotel, 550 East Ave., Rochester. Concludes today, Saturday, April 21. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Kendal at Ithaca, 2230 N. Triphammer Road, Ithaca. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Buffalo Non-Life Master Sectional – Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Saturday, June 30, and Sunday, July 1. For info, click this link.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 3, to Sunday, July 8. For info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19. For info, click this link.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3. For info, click this link.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.

Buffalo Spring Sectional –Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.

Rochester Spring Sectional – TBA. Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.

Ithaca Sectional – TBA. Saturday, May 4, 2019, and Sunday, May 5, 2019

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Lane, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, May 31, 2019, to Sunday, June 2, 2019.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.

Rochester Summer Sectional – TBA. Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.

Rochester Regional – TBA. Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Aug. 11, 2019.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh International Airport, 1111 Airport Blvd., Coraopolis, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.

Rochester Fall Sectional – TBA. Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.

Buffalo Regional – Adam's Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.

Toronto Fall Regional – Delta by Marriott Airport Conference Centre, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks currently cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,375 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of April 9 to April 15
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – One winner. A: Liz Clark and Alan Greer, 62.18%; Judi Marshall and Sandi England, 56.41%; B: Allen Beroza and Bob Sommerstein, 55.77%; C: Paula Kotowski and Denise Slattery, 55.45%; Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 52.68%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Linda Vassallo and Walt Olszewski, 62.80%; B: Mary Terrana and Vince Pesce, 56.55%; Usha Khurana and Dale Anderson, 52.08%; C: Eleanor Whelan and Ruth Wurster, 49.11%; east-west, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 72.32%; Judi Marshall and Barbara Libby, 51.79%; Gladys and Ken Hardcastle, 50%; B: Dorothy May and Gay Simpson, 49.70%; C: Linda Zittel and Jan Hasselback, 45.83%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – One winner. Martin Pieterse and Walt Olszewski, 60.65%; Alan Greer and John Ziemer, 59.26%; June Feuerstein and Dale Anderson, 54.17%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Allen Beroza, 52.31%; Gene Nowatniak and Bob Sommerstein, 50.93%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and John Ziemer, 67.08%; B: John Kirsits and Ken Meier, 55%; C: June Feuerstein and Barbara Sadkin, 50.42%; east-west, A: Martha and John Welte, 58.22%; B/C: Pawan Matta and Denise Slattery, 50.42%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B: Laurie Foster and Judy Zeckhauser, 62.20%; Ed Morgan and Margaret Zhou, 61.61%; Jim McClure and Natalie Abramson, 55.95%; Bob Ciszak and Judith Babat, 55.06%; C: Mary Blanchard and Carol Roth, 45.83%; east-west, A: Donna Pottle and Mary Berlow, 61.31%; B: Joel Brownstein and Sol Messinger, 59.23%; Amita Arora and Marilyn Wortzman, 58.04%; C: Paul Ziebarth and Pat Truell, 45.24%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – One winner. A/B: Donna Steffan and Margaret Zhou, 57.37%; Claire Gareleck and Nadine Stein, 57.05%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 55.77%; Fran Kurtz and Pat Burns, 54.17%; C: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 52.57%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A: Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 67.71%; B: Violet Makhija and Laurie Foster, 54.86%; C: Sharon Chang and Andrei Reinhorn, 47.43%; east-west, A/B: Judith Babat and Rivona Ehrenreich, 60.32%; Jane Roberts and Ruth Nawotniak, 59.13%; C: Carol Roth and Ginger Maiman, 55.16%; Rose Bochiechio and Rose Ann Grimaldi, 44.44%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargesheimer, 58%; B/C: Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 52%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Joanne LaFay and Lillian Gotshall, 64%; Bob and Joan Ciszak, 57%; Darcy Young and Bob Farwell, 49%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A: Sharon Benz and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 62.41%; B/C: Ken Meier and Dorothy May, 53%; Elaine Universal and Terry Fraas, 52.25%; east-west, A: Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 63.50%; B: Mary Ball and Art Morth, 53.79%; C: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 48.15%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – One winner. Mike and Vince Taeger, 70%; Gabe Tannenbaum and Jack Cukierman, 56.6%; Bill Rich and Ed Harman, 55.5%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – One winner. Jeff Bender and Gabriel Tannenbaum, 58.67%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 55.55%; Jim and Paula Jones, 55.30%; Roy Crocker and John Lewis, 52.65%; John and Barbara Scott, 50.74%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – One winner. Shirley Thompson and David Mathis, 68.82%; Mary Scofield and Doanne Jackson, 50.65%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 61%; Jill and Bruce Brown, 59%; east-west, Lorey Repicci and Joanne Zavarella, 56%; Lois Randaccio and Audrey Kotas, 54%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, George Mayers and Marian Morber, 66%; Jill and Bruce Brown, 59%; east-west, Ron Fill and Mike Brown, 61%; Carl Gebauer and Cindy Darone, 57%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukhanand Jain, 62.5%; Esther Greene and Ruth Lansing, 55.8%; east-west, Ruth Jones and George Lee, 71.9%; Betty Bowling and Bette Seifert, 58.3%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – North-south, Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, 70%; Jane and Paul Garvey, 63%; Elaine Wegrzyn and Judy Thielman, 55%; east-west, Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 60%; Brigitte Hess and Ted Shuman, 49%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Pat and Mike Weber, 66.9%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 55%; east-west, Marge Donovan and Kay Brinkman, 55.7%; Marv Feuerstein and Fritz Schweiger, 51.3%; Christel and Frank Bernard, 50.7%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment