Share this article

print logo

Selection Saturday: Section VI releases top seeds for girls basketball playoffs

The seedings are officially set for the Section VI girls basketball playoffs. Let the March (or February) Madness begin.

Orchard Park earned the top spot in the Class AA bracket, while the other No. 1 seeds include Williamsville South (A-1), East Aurora (A-2), Newfane (B-1), Olmsted (B-2), Holland (C) and Panama (D).

Defending sectional champions are Clarence (AA), Amherst (A), Williamsville South (A-1), Fredonia (B), Wilson (B-2), Frewsburg (C), Chautauqua Lake (C-1) and Panama (D).

There were five tiebreakers determined by coin flip Saturday morning.

In Class AA, Jamestown won the No. 5 seed over Clarence, which means the Red Devils visit No. 3 Lockport in the quarterfinals on Feb. 27. The Red Raiders head to No. 4 Niagara Wheatfield the same day.

Sweet Home is the No. 11 seed in Class A-1 and visits No. 6 Hamburg in a Tuesday prequarterfinal, while No. 12 West Seneca West heads to No. 5 Hutch Tech.

There were two tiebreakers in Class A-2. The third seed went to Lake Shore, leaving Iroquois fourth. The Eagles host the winner of 6-Lew-Port and 11-Pioneer in Thursday's prequarterfinals, while the Chiefs welcome No. 5 South Park.

In Class C, Salamanca won the No. 12 seed over Cassadaga Valley and will visit No. 5 Maple Grove in the prequarterfinals Tuesday. Cassadaga Valley heads to No. 4 Randolph Tuesday.

There were no tiebreakers determined by coin clip in Class B-1, B-2 or D.

The following 10 teams opted out of the postseason: Burgard, da Vinci, East, Falconer, Forestville, Global Concepts, Lackawanna, Lafayette, Oracle, Riverside.

View the complete Section VI playoff schedule below:

2018 Section VI girls basketball playoff schedule

There are no comments - be the first to comment