Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Feb. 17, 2018

The Bridge Center of Buffalo is expanding its game at 10:30 a.m. Wednesdays to include a 0-750 section as well as an open section.

*  *  *

The Airport Bridge Club will hold double sessions next week on Presidents Day, Monday, Feb. 19, and Wednesday, Feb. 21, with games at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. both days and a snack between sessions. The Wednesday afternoon game will be an ACBL-wide charity game, with hand records and extra points for winners at the district level. The club also will award extra points at all its other games today, Saturday, Feb. 17, through next Saturday, Feb. 24.

*  *  *

Bridge Club Meridian will offer extra points at its game at 10:30 a.m. Monday, Feb. 19.

*  *  *

Congratulations to Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargeshimer, the leading local players in last weekend's Niagara District Sectional Tournament in St. Catharines, Ont. Playing as partners, they were tied for first overall with 27.46 points.
Other players doing well in St. Catharines included: Donna Steffan and Jay Costello, both with 12.93 points; and Saleh Fetouh with 9.43. For complete results, click this link.

*  *  *

The Airport Bridge Club will offer Valentine's Day treats at its 11 a.m. game Wednesday, Feb. 14. The club will celebrate Presidents Day on Monday, Feb. 19, with two sessions, at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. Also coming up: The ACBL-wide Charity Game at 1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 21, following a regular pairs game at 10 a.m.

*  *  *

Hamburg Senior Bridge, which has been meeting on Tuesday afternoons for the past two years at the Hamburg Senior Center, 4540 Southwestern Blvd., is looking for additional players.
Previous players who have been away from the game, as well as advanced beginners who recently took classes, are welcome to join the group.
Players arrive around 12:15 p.m. Play begins at 12:30 and ends around 3:30. For more information, players can drop in prior to the game, call 202-4505 or email chetzler@roadrunner.com.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, March 27, to Sunday, April 1. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 7, and Sunday, April 8. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 13, to Sunday, April 15. For info, click this link.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Century Club, 566 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 20, and Saturday, April 21.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.
Rochester Regional – Tuesday, May 13, 2019, to Sunday, May 18, 2019.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.
Toronto Fall Regional – Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks currently cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,300 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of Feb. 5 to Feb. 11
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Barbara Libby and Liz Clark, 62.20%; Carolyn Siracuse and Gay Simpson, 52.08%; B: Fenton Harrison and Art Matthies, 51.19%; C: June Feuerstein and Mary Terrana, 49.40%; east-west, A: Alan Greer and Ed Morgan, 55.36%; B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 55.05%; C: Florence Boyd and Marilyn Sultz, 54.76%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Mike Ryan and John Ziemer, 56.71%; Judi Marshall and Sandi England, 54.63%; B/C: Gene Nowatniak and Chip Kean, 52.78%; east-west, A: (Tie) Barbara Libby and Liz Clark, Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 57.18%; B: Gay Simpson and Dale Anderson, 56.25%; Barbara Pieterse and Paula Kotowski, 54.86%; C: Mary Terrana and Marilyn Sultz, 42.59%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A; Paula Kotowski and Allen Beroza, 61%; B: Gay Simpson and Dorothy May, 52%; C: Pawan Matta and Bill Boardman, 51%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A/B/C: Ed Morgan and Bob Sommerstein, 55.42%; east-west, A: (tie) Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, Martha and John Welte, 55.83%; B: (tie) Helen Panza and Mike Silverman, Denise Slattery and John Ziemer, 50.83%; C: Paula Kotowski and Walt Olszewski, 45.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – North-south, A/B: Walt Olszewski and Ed Drozen, 62.76%; Barbara and Martin Pieterse, 57.94%; C: Nadine Stein and Gay Simpson, 48.08%; east-west, A: Alan Greer and Art Matthies, 65.13%; Barbara Libby and Mike Silverman, 62%; B: Martha and John Welte, 55.61%; C: Dorothy May and Joe Rooney, 49.65%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Howell. A: Paula Salamone and Cleveland Fleming, 57.50%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 55.60%; B: Terry and Paul Ganley, 52.40%; Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello, 50.50%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Mary Ball and Joyce Frayer, 61.01%; B/C: Mary Blanchard and Marcia Wright, 55.95%; east-west, A: Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 72.02%; B: Burt Freiman and Larry Abate, 54.76%; C: Judy Reich and Sandra Morrison, 49.11%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – One winner. A/B: John Bava and Stan Kozlowski, 61%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 57%; Ed Drozen and Pat Burns, 55%; C: Betsy and Richard Heuer, 39.88%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A/B: Joyce Frayer and Mary Ball, 59.35%; Gene Nawotniak and Chip Kean, 58.97%; C: Bob and Joan Ciszak, 55.02%; east-west, A/B/C: Marjorie Plumb and Judy Zeckhauser, 60.71%; Larry and Dorothy Soong, 55.53%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A: Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 60.12%; B: Penny and Peter Shui, 57.14%; Chris Urbanek and Regina Pollack, 56.55%; C: Edith Knaszak and Jan O’Mara, 47.62%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – One winner. A/B: Donna Steffan and Dian Petrov, 67.86%; Bud Seidenberg and Jay Costello, 58.33%; C: Davis Heussler and Fred Yellen, 50.60%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – Victory Point Game. Penny and Peter Shui, 125 VPs.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Jim Downing and Roger Dyer, 62%; Pepe Justicia-Linde and Dave Larcom, 54%; Bob and Joan Ciszak, 52%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Howell. A: Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 73.21%; B: Joan and Bob Ciszak, 53.57%; C: Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 48.81%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Joyce Kindt and Anne O’Connor, 58.3%; Jan O’Mara and Edna Fill, 52.6%; east-west, Jack Cukierman and Gabe Tannenbaum, 58.8%; Jeff Bender and Dian Petrov, 57.5%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Howell. Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 68.78%; (tie) Roy Crocker and John Lewis, Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 54.75%; Sushil Amlani and Walt Olszewski, 51.85%; Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 49.46%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Howell. Walt Olszewski and Sushil Amlani, 61.11%; Stuart Caswell and William Castle, 60.42%; Kathy Fenn and Elve Johnston, 59.72%; Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 52.08%.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Marion Morber and Chuck Heimerl, 56%; Bill and Jo Rich, 55%; east-west, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 67%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 57%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Marion Morber and Chuck Heimerl, 56%; Bill and Jo Rich, 55%; east-west, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 67%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 57%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukhanand Jain, 65.8%; Dottie Potembski and Jerry Stange, 48.3%; east-west, Esther Greene and Ruth Lansing, 64.6%; Dick Munschauer and George Lee, 57.3%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Howell. Elaine Wegrzyn and Ellen Lochead, 56%; (tie) Marge McMillen and Bob Jorgensen, Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 53%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Howell. Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 60%; Julie Albert and Joanne Biondo, 57.5%; Thelma Frauenhofer and Edna Henrich, 56.3%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment