Share this article

print logo

High School Extra: FLOP advances to state girls hockey championship

Frontier/Lake Shore/Orchard Park is going back to the New York State Public Schools Athletic Association girls hockey championship game and this time they won’t have to worry about Skaneateles, which defeated FLOP for last year’s title.

Coach Bob Klimowicz took care of that by defeating Skaneateles, 6-3, in the first semifinal game in the Marano Campus Center at Oswego State. FLOP will face Salmon River of Section X for the championship today at 1 p.m. Salmon River’s Shamrocks edged Beekmantown (Section VII), 2-1, to advance in the later game.

Brooke Becker and Emily Kromer scored two goals each and Gabby DeMeo had a goal and an assist for FLOP.

Becker scored just 31 seconds after the opening faceoff off a setup by Emil Kromer. After the Lakers tied it, Jessica Peters put FLOP back in the lead and Emily Kromer scored unassisted off an offensive zone faceoff, putting her shot in the upper corner after stealing the puck.

Skaneateles made it 3-2 in the second period, but FLOP broke it open with two goals after a double minor against Skaneateles. The first call was for hitting from behind, while play went on for the delayed penalty a tripping minor was called.

Becker scored the first power-play goal with an assist by DeMeo and then Emily Kromer made it 5-2 with the second penalty still in effect.

DeMeo scored in the third with assists by Keegan Shanahan and Maeve Hourihan.

Maggie Spyche made 14 saves for FLOP. Tori Fadeley received the Sportsmanship Award for FLOP

Blue Devils stay on top

No. 8 large school East Aurora got out to a 15-3 lead after the first quarter and a 26-11 lead at halftime in its dominating 56-40 ECIC III girls basketball win over No. 6 Iroquois. The Blue Devils (14-3, 11-0) beat the Chiefs (15-3, 7-3) by three Wednesday, 53-50, and remain the only unbeaten in the division.

Senior Emma Brinker scored a game-high 15 points and added 13 rebounds and five blocks for the Blue Devils, while junior Sarah Tully had 14 points. Senior Taylor Quinn led Iroquois with 12 points.

In nonleague play, Sacred Heart doubled up on visiting Aquinas in the second half, 48-24, to earn an 80-52 win over the Rochester school.

Jennifer Grimm (12 points, 15 rebounds) and Siobhan Ryan (16 points, 10 rebounds) each recorded double-doubles for the Sharks, while Micaela Ryan scored a team-high 23 points and Elizabeth Hill had 17.

Panama's Natalie Angeletti became the third player in program history to surpass 1,000 points when the fourth-year sophomore scored 12 in a 58-48 win against Hamburg. She also had eight rebounds.

At the MLK Classic held at McKinley, No. 9 small school Eden improved its record to 13-5 overall with a 58-53 win over Hutch-Tech. Raiders freshman Brooke Woodard had four three-pointers and shared game-high scoring honors with Hutch-Tech’s Cortinea Smith with 20 points.

Emerson’s Shinnel Sharp scored 23 points (five threes) and had seven blocks in her team’s 50-35 win against Tapestry.

Gabrielle McDuffie had 17 points and Imani Burch 12 as Olmsted blew by Lew-Port, 43-20.

Monsignor Martin grapplers fare well

Thirteen wrestlers from the Monsignor Martin advanced to Sunday’s semifinals following the first day of the CHSAA Championships held at Monsignor Farrell on Staten Island.

The seven St. Francis wrestlers who advanced are Logan Lauck (106 pounds), Slade Merk (132), Connor Miller (152), Marcus Muffoletto (160), Dominik Thomas (170), Nolan Thomas (195) and Melique Straker (195).

St. Joe’s advanced four in Ben Parish (132), Ty Slaugenhoupt (160), Sullivan Walsh (170) and Matt Werts (182). Canisius’ Justin Gill (145) and Gow’s Max Carrier (120) also moved onto the semis.

St. Anthony’s currently sits in first place as a team with 166.5 points, while St. Francis is third with 103 and St. Joe’s fifth with 92.5.

Track champs crowned

The indoor track and field girls teams at West Seneca West (Class A), Sweet Home (B) and Holland/East Aurora (C) took home sectional titles at the Section VI Team Championships Friday night at Houghton College.

Winning titles on the boys side were Lancaster (A), Sweet Home (B) and Cheektowaga (C).

A complete list of individual winners can be found below.

High school scores & schedules (Feb. 11)

There are no comments - be the first to comment