Share this article

print logo

Six high-achieving schools in area recognized by state

Five Erie County high schools and one in Chautauqua County have been named Reward Schools by the state Education Department.

They are among 155 schools in New York identified for the distinction, which indicates they have high academic achievement or the most progress in the state and without  significant gaps in student achievement between subgroups.

Akron, Amherst, East Aurora, Iroquois, Williamsville East and Ripley high schools were named by State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Elia Thursday.

"The teachers and administrators at these reward schools work hard each day to raise the bar and give their students opportunities to achieve their dreams,” Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa said. “The proof is in the results these schools have obtained and I am thrilled to celebrate their success."

There are no comments - be the first to comment