Share this article

print logo

Myers earns state Class A co-Player of the Year in football

West Seneca West senior quarterback and University at Buffalo-commit Matt Myers has been named Class A co-Player of the Year in football by the New York State Sportswriters Association.

Myers, the Buffalo News Player of the Year and two-time All-Western New York first-team selection, guided the Indians to their first Section VI and New York State Public High Schools Athletic Association championships during a 13-0 season.

"I’m blessed to receive this award," Myers said. "Can’t give enough credit to my teammates and coaches."

Myers passed for 2,407 yards and 24 touchdowns and rushed for 1,040 yards and 22 TDs in becoming just the third quarterback in WNY history to pass for 2,000 yards and rush for 1,000 in the same season.

Myers shared state Player of the Year honors with Westhampton running back Dylan Laube. Laube, a New Hampshire commit, helped the Long Island-based school post an unbeaten season by rushing for a 2,684 yards and a Long Island-record 47 touchdowns.

Three of Myers' teammates also earned first team All-State honors. They were senior offensive lineman Brad Claycomb, sophomore defensive end Liam Scheuer and sophomore linebacker Mike Glinski. A rival from Class A South also earned first-team honors in South Park senior defensive lineman Jeremiah Sanders.

West Seneca West receciver Juston Johnson and defensive back Bryan Ball, South Park receiver Dayquan Anderson, Starpoint offensive lineman Kyle Schraeder, Williamsville South defensive end Jemelle Jones and McKinley linebacker Miles Haynes all earned second-team honors.

Here's the rest of the all-state Class A list.

In Class AA, state runner-up Lancaster had three players selected to the all-state first team in its respective classification. They were Joseph Andreessen (linebacker), Ben Damiani (offensive line) and Max Giordano (defensive back).

Running back Joey Ward from state champion Troy of Section II shared co-Player of the Year honors with Jeremy Ruckert of XI-Lindenhurst.

Other Western New York talents  honored by the state included second-team selections Paul Woods of Canisius (wide receiver) and teammate Will McGennis (offensive line), St. Joe's Nick Julian (defensive line) and Lancaster's Brett Beetow (linebacker). State Catholic runner-up Canisius also had two land on the third team in quarterback Jayce Johnson and offensive lineman Brad Currell.

Here is the entire list of all-state Class AA selections.

In case you missed it, the state sportswriters unveiled the all-state teams for the B, C and D Classifications last week.

All-State teams

Class AA

First team offense

OL Ben Damiani (Lancaster)

First team defense

LB Joe Andreessen (Lancaster)

DB Max Giordano (Lancaster)

Second team offense

WR Paul Woods (Canisius)

OL Will McGennis (Canisius)

Second team defense

DL Nick Julian (St. Joe's)

LB Brett Beetow (Lancaster)

Third team offense

QB Jayce Johnson (Canisius)

OL Brad Currell (Canisius)

Fourth team offense

QB Ryan Mansell (Lancaster)

RB Andrew Hersey (Lancaster)

OL Noah Turzillo (Jamestown)

Fourth team defense

DL Rodney Bailey (Hutch-Tech)

LB Jadd Dolegala (St. Francis)

Fifth team offense

WR Nic Bruce (Orchard Park)

OL Jacob Calo (Lancaster)

K Brian Strybel (Orchard Park)

Fifth team defense

DL SyQuan Ralands (Niagara Falls)

LB Scott Becht (Williamsville North)

LB Joe Jamison (Canisius)

DB Dylan Bieler (Orchard Park)

Sixth team offense

RB Jaden Lofton (St. Joe's)

Honorable mention

QB: Casey Kelly (St. Joe's); WR: Andrew Pumford (Jamestown); Linebacker: Syveon Ralands (Niagara Falls); DB: Keenan Ollison (Canisius), Melique Straker (St. Francis).

Class A

Co-Player of the Year: QB Matt Myers (West Seneca West)

First team offense

OL Bradley Claycomb (West Seneca West)

First team defense

DL Jeremiah Sanders (South Park)

DL Liam Scheuer (West Seneca West)

LB Mike Glinski (West Seneca West)

Second team offense

WR Dayquan Anderson (South Park)

WR Juston Johnson (West Seneca West)

OL Kyle Schraeder (Starpoint)

Second team defense

DL Jemelle Jones (Williamsville South)

LB Miles Haynes (McKinley)

DB Bryan Ball (West Seneca West)

Third Team offense

RB C.J. Perillo (Iroquois)

OL Jordan Holmes (North Tonawanda)

Third team defense

DB Joe Shifflet (Williamsville East)

Fourth team offense

RB Anthony Robinson (Starpoint)

WR Jesse Broad (West Seneca West)

AP Jacob Maurino (West Seneca East)

Fifth team offense

RB Clarence Thomas (South Park)

WR Zane Johnson (Grand Island)

Fifth team defense

DL Devonte Fountain (South Park)

LB Spencer Slachetka (Iroquois)

Honorable mention

QB: Deabeyon Humphrey (South Park). Line: Robert Giancarlo (Sweet Home). Linebacker: Kevin Steele (Williamsville East), Dan Wagner (Williamsville East); DB: Joe Stewart (Kenmore West).


All-State football teams released in Class B, C & D

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment