Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo

Now that the Bills made the playoffs, what team has the longest postseason drought?

The Bills ended the longest postseason drought in American professional sports by making the playoffs for the first time since 1999, ending a span of 17 consecutive seasons without a playoff berth.

Who owns the longest playoff drought now?

No, it's not the Buffalo Sabres, although they're on the list. That sad title now belongs to the Seattle Mariners, who have gone 16 seasons without making the playoffs. They last qualified in 2001 after tying an MLB record with 116 wins.

Here's the full list of playoff droughts spanning five seasons or more in the NFL, MLB, NHL and NBA:

16 – Seattle Mariners
15 – Cleveland Browns
14 – Miami Marlins
13 – Minnesota Timberwolves
11 – San Diego Padres, Sacramento Kings
10 – Tampa Bay Buccaneers
9 – Chicago White Sox
8 – Carolina Hurricanes
7 – New York Jets, Chicago Bears, Phoenix Suns
6 – Buffalo Sabres, Philadelphia Phillies, Milwaukee Brewers
5 – New Jersey Devils, Arizona Coyotes, Philadelphia 76ers, Orlando Magic

The Drought: How the Buffalo Bills went 17 years without making the playoffs

The last time the Bills' obscure tiebreaker was used, that team won the Super Bowl

Remembering the highs and lows of Bills' roller-coaster season that ended The Drought

Story topics: / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment