Share this article

print logo

All-State football teams released in Class B, C & D

A pair of Maple Grove football standouts were repeat first-team selections on the All-State Class D team released Wednesday by the New York State Sportswriters Association.

Running back Nick Fabrizio and linebacker Zak Trim were named to the first team a year ago as juniors at linebacker and defensive line, respectively, and are joined this time around by senior linebacker Carter Russo as the three Red Dragons honored after finishing as the state runner-up for the second consecutive year.

Cheektowaga, Cleveland Hill, Lackawanna, Maryvale and Southwestern also placed multiple players on each of their respective first teams.

A total of 18 players from Western New York were named first-team All-State in Class B, C or D. There were 21 last year, seven in each classification. The NYSSWA will announce its Class AA and A All-State teams next Wednesday.

The Warriors landed their quarterback on the Class B first team for the second year in a row. Junior KeShone Beal didn't miss a beat in taking over for Eric Bartnik under center, leading the team to the state final four.

In Class C, Southwestern junior Cole Snyder moved up from second-team quarterback to first-team punter. Cleveland Hill's Ryan Majerowski and Akron's Jake Sarow were second-team linebackers in 2016.

Everything you need to know about the 2017 All-Western New York football team

Below is a list of all players who were recognized from Western New York. The complete teams can be found by clicking here.


First team offense
QB KeShone Beal-11 (Cheektowaga)
RB Rashad Law-11 (Maryvale)
OE Jalin Cooper (Medina)
OL Tariq Whitaker (Cheektowaga)
First team defense
DL Jakwon Ingram (Lackawanna)
LB Nick Costanzo (Maryvale)
DB Khalil Horton (Lackawanna)

Second team: OE Ray Blackwell (Maryvale), DL Terrance Bass (Cheektowaga), DB Tywon Wright-10 (Dunkirk).

Third team: QB Connor Desiderio-10 (Maryvale), OL Robert Rice (Lackawanna), LB Julian Nixon (Newfane), DB Dylan Casey (Maryvale), DB London Smith (Lackawanna).

Fourth team: OE Christian Snell (Alden), OL Carter Post (Depew), DB Mason Lewis (Medina).

Fifth team: QB Brandon Gross (Newfane), Ugene Harrison-11 (Albion), OL Derek Biscaro (Pioneer), DL C.J. Ozolins-10 (St. Mary's), DB Alekzander Bryant (Cheektowaga), DB Dylan Vincent (Olean).

Honorable mention: QB – Tony Maple (Burgard), Noble Smith (Lackawanna); RB – Quantavis Kleckley-11 (Dunkirk); Line – Connor Hill (Newfane); LB – Icar Simon-11 (Olean).


First team offense
RB Jake Sarow (Akron)
OL Sam Arrington (Cleveland Hill)
P Cole Snyder-11 (Southwestern)
First team defense
DL Manny Al-Hemyari (Cleveland Hill)
LB Vinny Certo (Southwestern)
LB Ryan Majerowski (Cleveland Hill)
LB Aaron Wahler-11 (Cleveland Hill)

Second team: RB Javon Thomas-11 (Cleveland Hill), LB Robbie Penhollow-11 (Cassadaga Valley/Falconer), DB Jordan Snyder (JFK).

Third team: LB James Purpura (Cleveland Hill), DB Alex Card-11 (Southwestern).

Honorable mention: QB – James Bailey (JFK), Steve Frerichs-11 (Wilson); OE – Marcel Wilson-11 (Wilson); DB – Brian Burns (Southwestern).


First team offense
RB Nick Fabrizio (Maple Grove)
First team defense
DL Thomas Delahoy (Clymer/Sherman/Panama)
LB Carter Russo (Maple Grove)
LB Zak Trim (Maple Grove)

Second team: QB Brock Blecha (Franklinville/Ellicottville), RB Nash Nelson (Maple Grove), OL Sam Erickson (Franklinville/Ellicottville), OL Walt Woodarek (Franklinville Ellicottville), DL Dalton Goldberg (Clymer/Sherman/Panama), LB Derek Ecklund-11 (Clymer/Sherman/Panama), LB Griffin Chudy (Franklinville/Ellicottville), DB Devin Pope (Chautauqua Lake), DB Easton Tanner-11 (Maple Grove).

Third team: OE Zach Fischer-11 (Maple Grove).

Honorable mention: QB – Gerrit Hinsdale-10 (Clymer/Sherman/Panama); RB – Tanner Ramsey (Clymer/Sherman/Panama); Line – Truman Purslow (Maple Grove); LB – Taige Jones-11 (Maple Grove), Wyatt Sluga (Randolph/Frewsburg).

There are no comments - be the first to comment