Share this article

print logo

With victory, McDermott would join rare list among Bills coaches

If the Bills beat Miami on Sunday, Sean McDermott will be the fifth Bills coach to have a winning record in his first season with the team. The Bills would finish 9-7.

The last time that happened was in 2004 when Mike Mularkey's team went 9-7.

Here is the list:

  • Lou Saban went 7-6-1 in 1962.
  • Joe Collier went 9-4-1 in 1966.
  • Wade Phillips went 10-6 in 1998.
  • Mike Mularkey went 9-7 in 2004.

As has been the case from the outset, McDermott has more than just one year on his mind, with the goal of building sustained success for the Bills.

"Whatever happens this weekend, we’re going to stay on the hunt, stay humble and hungry, and we’re not going to rest until we get to where we’re trying to go; that takes time," McDermott said Friday.

Story topics: / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment