Share this article

print logo

High School Extra: Williamsville hockey teams victorious

Williamsville’s two first-period goals held up, as the combined girls hockey team came away with a 2-1 win over Monsignor Martin.

Elizabeth Jackson scored 2:58 into the game, and Ella Huntley made it 2-0 about 10 minutes later. Izzy Friedman got Monsignor Martin on the board with a power-play goal in the second.

Both goalies were busy throughout the game. Williamsville’s Rose Quattro made 41 saves, while Isabella Battaglia had 29.

In boys hockey, Williamsville East won its season-opener, 3-1, against Grand Island.

The Vikings scored first on a goal by Ricky Little 5:27 into the second period. East’s Sam Pastore scored his first of two goals 38 seconds later to tie it up.

Tommy Burke gave the Flames a 2-1 lead on a power-play goal with 25.9 seconds left in the second, and Pastore scored again on an empty net with less than a minute to go in the third.

Postseason honors for Gators

Allegany-Limestone sophomore Molly McClelland was awarded the 2017 Class C state Player of the Year, while longtime coach Dale MacArthur was named the Class C Coach of the Year by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports.

McClelland set the single-season school record for assists with 22. MacArthur led the Gators to a 21-1 season that ended with the program’s first outright state title. Sophomore teammate Alyssa Spring joined McClelland on the Class C first team.

Williamsville North senior Maya Palmer, the Section VI Player of the Year, and Clarence junior Cassandra Bykowicz were named to the Class AA first team. Newfane senior Emily Foltz was on the Class B first team.

Schiltz named All-American

East Aurora senior Bryce Schiltz was one of 66 players named to the 2017 United Soccer Coaches Fall High School Boys All-America Team.

He’s the second Blue Devil to be named an All-American and the eighth from Section VI. That list includes I-Prep/Grover’s Pa Lu (2016), East Aurora’s Kyle Kleckner (2013), Lockport’s Alex Reid (2012), Sweet Home’s Liam Callahan (2011), Clarence’s Ryan Schroen (2010), and Lew-Port’s Anthony Tanzini (1994) and Andy Leardini (1992-93).

The four-year varsity starter was named the Section VI Player of the Year following a season in which he led the Blue Devils to a 20-1 record. He scored 28 times as a senior to break the school record for goals in a career, finishing with 73.

Williamsville North senior Justin Bonetto joined Schiltz on the boys All-East Region Team, while Clarence’s Bykowicz, Williamsville North’s Palmer and Williamsville East senior Tess Ford were named to the girls All-East Region Team.

There are no comments - be the first to comment