Share this article

print logo

Allegany-Limestone's McClelland named Class C state girls soccer Player of the Year

The Class C state champion Allegany-Limestone girls soccer team added some more postseason accolades on Sunday.

Gators sophomore Molly McClelland was awarded the 2017 Class C state Player of the Year, while longtime coach Dale MacArthur was named the Class C Coach of the Year by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports (NYSSCOGS).

McClelland scored 14 goals and set the single-season school record for assists with 22. MacArthur led the Gators to a 21-1 record, ending the season on an 11-game winning streak and the program's first outright state title. Limestone was co-champs with Section III's Immaculate Heart in 2002.

This is the second straight year a player from Section VI was named Player of the Year. Grand Island's Madisyn Pezzino, the state's all-time leading scorer, and Williamsville East's Marissa Birzon were two of three players who shared Class A Player of the Year honors in 2016. Pezzino is now playing for Florida State, while Birzon is at Ohio State.

Limestone sophomore Alyssa Spring, who scored 43 goals (second in Section VI) and all three in the state title game to lift the Gators to a 3-2 win over Stillwater of Section II, joined McClelland on the Class C first team. They're two of the five players from Section VI who were first-team selections.

Senior Williamsville North defender Maya Palmer, the Section VI Player of the Year, and junior Clarence defender Cassandra Bykowicz were named to the Class AA first team. Senior Newfane midfielder Emily Foltz was on the Class B first team. Palmer and Foltz moved up from third team last year.

The complete list of locals named to the 26th annual All-State Girls Soccer Teams:


First Team
Senior D Maya Palmer (Williamsville North)
Junior D Cassandra Bykowicz (Clarence)
Second Team
Junior F Emma Faso (Clarence)
Fourth Team
Freshman F Erin Weir (Niagara Wheatfield)
Fifth Team
Senior G Alyssa Lutz (Orchard Park)
Junior M Megan McCraith (Clarence)
Sixth Team
Junior M Alyssa Lorka (Frontier)
Senior A Samantha Diamond (Williamsville North)


Second Team
Senior M Tess Ford (Williamsville East)
Third Team
Junior D Alexa Chiarenza (Grand Island)
Senior F Meghan Root (Pioneer)
Fourth Team
Senior M Grace Stranahan (Grand Island)
Freshman F Bella Buscaglia (Williamsville East)
Fifth Team
Senior F Lexi Aquilino (Maryvale)
Sixth Team
Senior G Sarah Bykowicz (Grand Island)


First Team
Senior M Emily Foltz (Newfane)
Second Team
Senior F Kayleigh Daniels (Newfane)
Senior G Emily Kelly (Wilson)
Fourth Team
Senior F Hope Balling (Tonawanda)
Junior M Marisa Warren (Nichols)
Fifth Team
Junior F Calista Heister (Olean)
Junior D Abby Malloy (Nardin)


Player of the Year: Molly McClelland (Allegany-Limestone).
Coach of the Year: Dale MacArthur (Allegany-Limestone).

Spring hat trick gives Allegany-Limestone first outright girls soccer state title

First Team
Sophomore M Molly McClelland (Allegany-Limestone)
Sophomore F Alyssa Spring (Allegany-Limestone)
Second Team
Senior F Adrianna Carlson (Maple Grove)
Sophomore M Skylar Baun (St. Mary's of Lancaster)
Third Team
Junior M Clare Crosley (Maple Grove)
Fourth Team
Senior D Karolyn Schmidt (Holland)
Senior D Anna Seamon (Allegany-Limestone)
Sophomore F Samantha Carlson (St. Mary's of Lancaster)
Fifth Team
Senior G Sky Tarapacki (Maple Grove)
Senior D Brianna Kellner (Allegany-Limestone)


Second Team
Senior F Emma Kron (North Collins)
Third Team
Senior D Rebecca Cyrek (North Collins)
Junior M Gabby Iuculano (Frewsberg)
Senior F Evelyn Cortez (Ellicottville)
Fourth Team
Senior F Maddy Sohl (Frewsburg)
Senior D Kourtney Robinson (Ellicottville)
Senior M Shannon Brown (Franklinville)

Click here for the entire list

The above list is edited by Perry L. Novak. Official All-State certificates may be purchased by sending a check to: NYSSCOGS, 3350 Rt. 28, Herkimer, NY 13350. The cost is $5 for one certificate, $4 for a second, and $3 per for each additional.

Story topics: / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment