Share this article

print logo

With Kulpa moving up, who will be new Williamsville mayor?

Now that Brian J. Kulpa has been elected Amherst town supervisor, who will take over as mayor of the Village of Williamsville?

Kulpa on Wednesday said he plans to submit his resignation in December, and his departure will be Dec. 31.

After the New Year, the Village Board's four trustees would select a new mayor -- either from among themselves or another village resident.

That person would serve for six months, until June, when a special election would be held for the remaining year in Kulpa's term. The new mayor would then have to run again in June 2019 for a full four-year term.

The four village trustees are Deputy Mayor Dan DeLano, Deb Rogers, Basil Piazza and Al Yates. Rogers and Piazza, who previously served as mayor, were unopposed in village elections this year.

Kulpa elected Amherst town supervisor as Democrats win full control of board

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment