Share this article

print logo

Live coverage: Voters to decide county, town, mayor races

Voters will go to the polls Tuesday to pick Erie County's next sheriff and county legislators, town supervisors and mayors in both Niagara and Erie counties.

Our reporters and photographers have been visiting polling sites, talking to voters and candidates, and will bring you results after the polls close. You can follow the live coverage below in tweets from Buffalo News journalists. Click the link below for live results.

Live results: The winners and losers of races throughout Erie County

The big races

Erie County:

  • Democrat Bernard A. Tolbert challenges Republican incumbent Sheriff Timothy B. Howard

Sheriff Howard touts public safety experience, defends against critics

Tolbert targets sheriff on jail deaths while facing turnout challenge

  • Republican Comptroller Stefan I. Mychajliw Jr. defends his post against Democrat Vanessa Glushefski;

Erie County comptroller's race pits accountant against incumbent

  • and Michael P. Kearns, a Democrat running on the Republican line, faces Democrat Stephen J. Cichon for county clerk.

Erie County clerk's race pits former newsman against assemblyman

Erie County's three countywide races will be won — or lost — in the suburbs

Erie County Legislature: Several competitive races will determine the majority in County Hall come January.

Schoeneman challenges Lorigo's power in Erie County Legislature race

Loughran, Marlette locked in rematch for Erie County Legislature seat

Morton-Bruso race for Erie County Legislature pivotal in deciding majority

Niagara County: The North Tonawanda mayor's race pits Democrat James K. McGinnis against Republican Arthur G. Pappas.

Niagara County election candidates list


Statewide: Voters face propositions calling for a state constitutional convention, another stripping corrupt public officials of pensions, and one more creating a land bank for public improvements in the Adirondack and Catskill forest preserves.

Strangest of bedfellows ally to stop state constitutional convention

Voting hours

Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 9 p.m.

Where to vote?

The location of polling places and other information is available in Erie County at or 858-8891; and in Niagara County at elections.niagara.ny, or 434-4041 or 434-4040.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment