Share this article

print logo

High School Extra: East Aurora sweeps Alden Bulldog Stampede

East Aurora’s cross country team won the boys and girls small schools titles at the Alden Bulldog Stampede raced at Alden High School on Saturday. The Blue Devils won both individual races.

Senior Ian Russ ran the 3.1-mile course in 15:46.07, beating out Lew-Port junior Andrew Perreault by nearly 45 seconds.

The small schools girls race turned out to be a battle of McLaughlins and Gostomskis. East Aurora eighth-grader Megan McLaughlin won in 18:41.64, Cattaraugus/Little Valley senior Abby Gostomski came in second in 18:43.54, EA senior Molly McLaughlin finished third in 18:56.45 and C/LV senior Bailey Gostomski rounded out the top four in 19:16.52.

Orchard Park senior Cal Puskar won his second meet in as many weekends as he helped the Quakers capture the team title in the large schools boys race. Puskar ran a 15:51.80, more than 29 seconds ahead of second-place Josh Peron of Frontier. The Falcons as a team also finished second.

Pioneer senior Riley Jones won the individual title of the large schools girls race in 19:14.92, while Hambug won the team title. Williamsville South’s Amberlee Robertson came in second with a time of 19:31.73. Molly Kabza was the highest finisher for Hamburg in 10th place.

Elsewhere, a handful of local runners placed highly in the Cuba-Rushford Invitational.

Southwestern sophomore Eddie Scroxton and Allegany-Limestone senior Sam Filbert came in third place in the boys large and small schools race, respectively.

Buffalo Seminary junior Zoe Knauss finished third in the girls small schools race, while Franklinville captured the team title. Eight-grader Tarryn Herman was the top finisher for the Panthers in sixth place.

Bulldogs win NT title

No. 5 large school Hamburg beat ECIC II rival and No. 2 ranked Williamsville East in straight sets (25-20, 25-14) to win North Tonawanda’s 20-team Dig Pink Tournament.

The Bulldogs beat Chautauqua Lake in the quarterfinals, 30-24, and Sacred Heart in the semifinals, 30-26.

“Our trust in each other gets stronger by the day and is coming at an opportune time in the season,” Hamburg coach John Crangle said. “After a comeback win against Sacred Heart, we fed off that momentum and confidence.”

In Orchard Park’s boys tournament, Eden swept Clarence in the final by set scores of 25-17 and 25-18. Collin Rigley had nine kills and two blocks against the Red Devils, while Drew Hesse added eight kills and an ace. Gavin Musielak was named tournament MVP for the Raiders, who didn’t drop a set all afternoon.

ECIC team golf champs set

The final ECIC boys golf event of the fall season is set to take place Monday.

The four division champions from the regular season will square off in a nine-hole medal play event at Sheridan Park Golf Course to determine the overall team champ of the league.

The field consists of golfers from Williamsville North (Large North), Starpoint (Small North), Orchard Park (Large South) and East Aurora/Holland (Small South). The Quakers have won the past four years, with North winning the two years prior to that.

Each team will field eight golfers and drop the two highest scores. The aggregate of the remaining six golfers will determine each team’s score.

Top-ranked golfers for each school include senior Kevin Halpern (Williamsville North), junior Braden Zdrojewski (Starpoint), seventh-grader Charlie Fischer (Orchard Park) and junior Mitch Jeffe (East Aurora/Holland).

Junior Andrew LaCongo, who won the ECIC individual title last Tuesday at the same course, will be in the No. 3 hole for East Aurora/Holland.

There are no comments - be the first to comment