Share this article

print logo

Sabres name Eichel, O'Reilly, Okposo, Bogosian as alternate captains

The Sabres' leadership group is officially a four-man affair.

On the morning of the season opener Thursday, Buffalo announced Jack Eichel, Ryan O'Reilly, Kyle Okposo and Zach Bogosian will serve as alternate captains this year.

General Manager Jason Botterill said Wednesday that Buffalo would not name a captain at the start of the year.

While Bogosian was available for the Sabres' leadership picture, he was not on the ice for the morning skate with a lower-body injury.

Here were the lines and defense pairings as the Sabres warmed up for Montreal:

Evander Kane-Eichel-Jason Pominville
Benoit Pouliot-O'Reilly-Okposo
Zemgus Girgensons-Sam Reinhart-Seth Griffith
Johan Larsson-Jacob Josefson-Jordan Nolan

Nathan Beaulieu-Rasmus Ristolainen
Jack McCabe-Victor Antipin
Marco Scandella-Matt Tennyson

Matt Moulson skated as the extra forward, while Josh Gorges was the extra defenseman.

There are no comments - be the first to comment