Share this article

print logo

Six Bills elect to kneel for national anthem prior to game against Atlanta

ATLANTA – Six members of the Buffalo Bills elected to kneel for the playing of the national anthem Sunday.

Cedric Thornton, Jerel Worthy, Shareece Wright, Kaelin Clay, Mike Tolbert and Taiwan Jones took a knee, while cornerback Leonard Johnson stood with them.

Thornton, Wright, Clay, Tolbert and Jones were among the dozen members of the Bills who took a knee last week against Denver. Worthy is making his season debut after missing the first three games of the year. The five players who stood after taking a knee against Denver were Lorenzo Alexander, LeSean McCoy, Jordan Matthews, Ryan Davis and Johnson. Defensive end Shaq Lawson, who knelt last week, is inactive against Atlanta because of an injury.

No members of the Falcons elected to kneel, although a group of seven players stood apart from the rest of the team, which had its arms interlocked.

There are no comments - be the first to comment