Share this article

print logo

High School Extra: Ian Russ among winners at East Aurora Invitational

Runners from Section VI won three of the four varsity races at the East Aurora Invitational.

East Aurora senior Ian Russ came in first in the large school boys race in 14:53.32, 25.06 seconds ahead of second-place Cal Puskar of Orchard Park. West Seneca East senior Joshua Glaub won the small school boys race in 16:00.04.

Rush-Henrietta’s Haley Riorden won the large school girls race in 18:09.06, edging East Aurora’s Molly McLaughlin (18:13.98) and Megan McLaughlin (18:14.73). Silver Creek sophomore Jaylah Cossin won the small school girls race in 19:12.68.

Team titles went to East Aurora (large girls), Section V’s Fairport (large boys) and Section V’s Addison (small boys and girls).

Lions lock up volleyball tournament title

Lockport proved once again its ranking as the No. 1 boys volleyball team in Western New York with a title at the 45th annual Sweet Home Invitational.

The Lions didn’t drop a set all day, including a 25-19, 25-14 sweep of the host Panthers in the final. Setter Marc Bixby was named tournament MVP, and Jesse Donorovich and Zach Schneider were named to the all-tournament team.

Sweet Home upset Hamburg in the semifinals (25-18, 17-25, 15-9) on the way to the first finals appearance at its home tournament since 2009.

Sweet Home’s Dylan Aarum and Jonathan Miller, Clarence’s Alex Goff and Hamburg’s Jacob Couzins rounded out the all-tournament team.

In girls volleyball, Williamsville East swept Eden by identical set scores of 25-19, 25-19 in the gold bracket final of the Frontier Invitational at the Buffalo Niagara Court Center.

The Flames beat Clarence in the one-set quarterfinals and topped Orchard Park in the semifinals. Eden had a bye to the semis, where it swept Sacred Heart.

St. Mary's of Lancaster finished tied for third in the 40-team Victor Tournament, losing in the semifinals to Section V Penfield in three sets (33-31, 19-25, 15-10).

Tourney MVP for Uba

Canisius senior John Uba picked a good time to score the first goal of his career.

Uba’s marker in the 63rd minute on a free kick from 22 yards out was the lone goal for the Crusaders in their 1-0 win over Skaneateles of Section III (Syracuse area) for the Finger Lakes Cup, a tournament the soccer team has been attending the last four years.

“John’s been a starting defender on varsity since his sophomore year and never scored a goal,” Canisius coach Chris Stuff said. “It’s like the fourth time ever he’s taken a free kick, so it was a really cool moment for him.”

The goal earned Uba tournament MVP honors, while John Bailey took home Defensive MVP. Alex Nemeth, Chris Cardiloo, Mason Monteleone and Derek Bartlow made the all-tournament team.

Elsewhere in boys soccer, Jason Martin scored the game-winning goal for No. 6 large school Lancaster in a 2-1 ECIC I win at No. 2 Williamsville North.

Bennett to induct 10 into Hall of Fame

Bennett High School will induct 10 members into its Sports Hall of Fame on Oct. 14.

Inductees include T.J. Adams (‘02), Peter Gunn (‘79 posthumous), David Knight (‘94). Robert Malecki (‘95), Cary Presant (‘60), Nicole Smith (‘02), Elson Turner (‘65), Kristy Zimmerman (‘95), Earle Hannel Award winner Fran DeYoung (‘57) and Career Award winner Steve Poliachick (faculty).

Tickets are $20 for the 15th annual event and will be available at the Main Street front door.

There are no comments - be the first to comment