Share this article

print logo

40 years of Foreigner


Foreigner, "40: 40 Hits From 40 Years" (Atlantic/Rhino, two discs).

It requires no small chutzpah to call all of the 40 selections on this anniversary set "hits." But then, considering only one original member of the band remains, it requires no small nerve to call the band "Foreigner."

The group recently appeared in Buffalo to commemorate its musical franchise along with that of Cheap Trick and Led Zeppelin (the latter in a tribute band led by John Bonham's son, Jason).

There is no question that the band had a couple of hands full of radio hits – "Feels Like the First Time," "Cold as Ice," "Hot Blooded," "Double Vision," "Dirty White Boy," "Jukebox Hero," "Waiting for a Girl Like You"– but they could all fit on one disc. Everything after that is filler for Foreigner fans. It's the musical equivalent of a mullet.

For non-fans, it is a dispiriting way to spend a couple of hours, however meaningful it may be to the current band as self-congratulation. Those who like this sort of thing will indeed find it the sort of thing they like.

2.5 stars (out of four)


There are no comments - be the first to comment