Share this article

print logo

Buffalo Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame announces Class of '17

It's news sure to light up the airwaves. The Buffalo Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame has announced its Class of 2017. Here's a look.

Pete Weber. Currently the voice of the Nashville Predators, Weber's Buffalo career began in 1976 on WEBR Newsradio 970. He covered the spectrum of Buffalo sports – Bills, Braves and Sabres. A native of Galesburg, Ill., he now lives in Nashville, Tenn.

Mike Randall. The meteorologist, whose association with WKBW-TV goes back to 1983, also is on the list of legends.

Carl Russo. Russo has been with 97 Rock since 1980, the same year he graduated from Medaille College.

Jim Pastrick. His storied career on and off the air has made him a famous name in Western New York. Currently, he is an associate commercial producer with Townsquare Media.

Dick Greene. The WLV-AM station owner's varied career in media goes back to 1967, when he sold display ads for The Buffalo News.

Ray Marks. The late radio newsman, who was best known for his stints as news director at WGR-AM and WBEN, is being inducted in the "In Memorium" category.

“The Class of 2017 inductees have an interesting cross-section of broadcasting,” said Steve Reszka, president of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association, announcing the honorees. “We are honored to recognize and welcome them into the Hall of Fame.”

In addition to the induction ceremony, the Buffalo Broadcasting Association is presenting the Tim Russert Medal of Merit to Noah Maciejewski, a student at SUNY College at Fredonia. He will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

The inductions will take place at the Buffalo Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame Dinner on Sept. 28 in the studios of WNED-TV. WIVB-TV Anchor Jacquie Walker and WGRZ-TV anchor John Beard will serve as emcees.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment