Share this article

print logo

Scanlan, Lalley join exclusive club at Tom Borrelli Awards

Lake Shore senior Shayla Scanlan and St. Joe's senior Jack Lalley were recognized as the top high school lacrosse players in Western New York at the ninth annual Tom Borrelli Memorial Awards presentation on Monday at Ilio DiPaolo's Restaurant & Banquet Facility.

Longtime Sweet Home coach John Faller received the Ed Van Tine Memorial Award for playing a leading role in helping establish lacrosse at the local high school level. Faller retired after this past season second on Western New York's all-time wins list with 373.

Among others honored at the event were "Ox" Award winners Matthew Jeffries of Williamsville North and Savannah Gonsiorek of Frontier.

[PHOTO GALLERY: Monday's ninth annual Tom Borrelli Memorial Awards at Ilio Dipaolo's]

A look at past recipients:

Boys Borrelli Award winners

2009 - Jeff Tundo, Orchard Park: 2013 All-American honorable mention attackman as a senior finished his Stony Brook career with 108 points in 32 games.

2010 - Chris Kane, Bishop Timon-St. Jude: After three years at Syracuse, and battling through a knee injury, completed his career at Canisius College in 2015 with eight goals and six assists in 15 games.

2011 - Brian Sullivan, Bishop Timon-St. Jude: Defenseman played in 14 of 16 games for Cornell as the Big Red compiled a 10-6 record.

2012 - Josh Babcock, Hamburg: Appeared in 19 games and made 10 starts for Albany his final season. Danes lost to Notre Dame in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

2013 - Zed Williams, Silver Creek: Made the 2017 Tewaaraton Trophy watch list for Virginia and was All-ACC his senior year with the Cavaliers. Finished career with 75 goals, 56 assists for 131 points.

2014 - Adam DiMillo, Bishop Timon-St. Jude: Scored twice as Maryland beat Ohio State, 9-6, in the NCAA title game. The junior played in every game for the Terrapins this season.

2015 - Larson Sundown, Akron: Sophomore was second in the country with 49 assists as Onondaga Community College won its 10th NJCAA National Championship with a perfect 15-0 record. Committed to Division II powerhouse Limestone College in South Carolina.

2016 - Evan Hollfelder, Hamburg: Named to the All-Great Midwest Athletic Conference Freshman Team at Mercyhurst

Girls Borrelli Award winners

2011 - Julia Suriani, West Seneca East: Wrapped up her career at Le Moyne with a flourish: 61 goals, 74 points as well as two goals for winning North squad in the IWLCA Division II North-South All-Star Game.

2012 - Spring Sanders, Nichols: In final season, complete career with two goals and 20 ground balls in 18 games.

2013 - Megan Mikolajek, Hamburg: Defender started 17 games and played all 18 as an Albany senior. The Great Danes went 12-6 and lost to Northwestern in the NCAA Tournament.

2014 - Allie Stewart, Lancaster: Finished her junior season at MAAC champion Canisius fifth on the team with 33 goals and sixth with 47 points.

2015 - Grace Gabriel, Lancaster: Led Marquette with single-season program record 81 draw controls and was second on the team with 41 goals as a sophomore. Earned IWLCA All-West/Midwest Region Second Team and unanimous All-BIG East First Team honors.

2016 - McKenna Rushford, Amherst: Started all 17 games as a Cincinnati freshman and was fifth on the team with 18 goals and 23 points.

Boys "Ox" Award winners

2012: Nathan Gowen, Amherst
2013: Max Maxwell, Hamburg
2014: Brandon Donohue, Bishop Timon-St. Jude
2015: Dom Perna, St. Joe's
2016: Carter Stefaniak, St. Joe's

Girls "Ox" Award winners

2012: Amanda Obenshain, Hamburg
2013: Grace and Hannah Christiansen, Frontier
2014: Rachel Heidenreich, Lancaster
2015: Kayden Maclay, Williamsville East
2016: Riley Lucarelli, Lancaster

There are no comments - be the first to comment