Share this article

print logo

#PrepTalkLive from the #PrepTalkAwards

The 2016-17 high school season concludes tonight with the fourth annual Prep Talk Awards banquet at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel and Conference Center.

The majority of this year's Prep Talk Players of the Year have been revealed over the past two weeks, but six more major honors will be announced this evening (the full list of winners is below):

  • Prep Talk Male Athlete of the Year
  • Prep Talk Female Athlete of the Year
  • Prep Talk Program of the Year
  • Prep Talk Team of the Year
  • Prep Talk Coach of the Year
  • 2017 Prep Talk Hall of Fame inductee

Follow along for live updates, photos and more from tonight's banquet, which will be hosted by News Deputy Sports Editor Keith McShea and feature Kiss 98.5's Janet Snyder and Nicholas Picholas, along with a speech from former Bills running back Fred Jackson.

Use #preptalkawards to join the conversation:

All #PrepTalkLive tweets will appear here:

Here is the full list of winners that has already been announced:

Bucky Gleason: One-handed Will North outfielder inspires us all

Girls soccer: Marissa Birzon, Williamsville East (announced May 30)

Boys soccer: Pa Lu, I-Prep (May 30)

Girls cross country: Danielle Orie, Nardin (May 31)

Boys cross country: Christopher Nowak, Sweet Home (May 31)

Girls volleyball: Samantha Burgio, Eden (June 1)

Boys volleyball: Henry Payne, Clarence (June 1)

Field hockey: Abby Ferenczy, Williamsville South (June 2)

Girls gymnastics: Zoe Kyriakopoulos, Williamsville North (June 2)

Wrestling: Laith Alsous, Lew-Port (June 3)

Rifle: Kiersten Mucha, Lancaster (June 3)

Girls swimming: Olivia Sapio, Orchard Park (June 4)

Boys swimming: Seth Farrand, Olean (June 4)

Girls hockey: Katy Knoll, Nichols (June 5)

Boys hockey: Cole Donhauser, Nichols (June 5)

Girls indoor track: Jenna Crean, Orchard Park (June 6)

Boys indoor track: Treston White, Lockport (June 6)

Girls bowling: Britney Grey, Cattaraugus/Little Valley (June 7)

Boys bowling: Nate Maloney, Niagara Wheatfield (June 7)

Program of the Year finalists: Announced June 8

Coach of the Year finalists: Announced June 8

Girls lacrosse: Shayla Scanlan, Lake Shore (June 8)

Boys lacrosse: Owen Hill, Akron (June 9)

Girls rugby: Emily Henrich, Orchard Park (June 9)

Boys rugby: Jack Wiles, Canisius (June 9)

Girls golf: Melanie Green, Medina (June 10)

Boys golf: Mitchell Smith, Orchard Park (June 10)

Girls track and field: Nia Stevens, Tapestry (June 10)

Boys track and field: Nathaniel Davis, Sweet Home (June 11)

Softball: Karsen Cotton, Depew (June 11)

Baseball: Leugim Castillo, Lancaster (June 11)

Girls rowing: Kiera Bohen, Nardin (June 12)

Boys rowing: Charlie Pratt, St. Joe's (June 12)

Boys tennis: Harry Wang, Williamsville North (June 12)

Girls tennis: Eileen Wang, Williamsville North (June 13)

Girls squash: Maureen Foley, Nichols  (June 13)

Boys squash: Matthew Dukarm, Canisius (June 13)

Girls three-sport athlete: Madalyn Bowen, Panama (June 14)

Boys three-sport athlete: Leugim Castillo, Lancaster (June 14)

* * *

Follow The Buffalo News' high school sports coverage with Prep Talk on Facebook and Twitter.

There are no comments - be the first to comment