Ride-hailing services such as Uber will be legal in New York State beginning June 29, and rules are now in place to regulate the new industry.
Laws for ride-hailing companies include:
- Companies must have an app that connects drivers with passengers.
- They must submit an application to the Department of Motor Vehicles with a $100,000 application fee. If the application is rejected, the DMV will return $90,000.
- There is an annual renewal fee of $60,000.
- Vehicle liability insurance in the amount of $1.25 million must be provided.
- Companies must provide workers' compensation coverage for drivers.
- Anti-discrimination policies must be put in place.
- The state's Transportation Network Company Accessibility Task Force will advise companies as to how to serve people with disabilities.
Rules for drivers include:
- Drivers must pass a criminal background check and undergo a driving record review.
- Companies must enroll drivers in the DMV's License Event Notification System, which will track their driving record.
- Drivers must have a valid license issued by the DMV.
- Drivers must be 19 years old.
- Companies may have specific vehicle requirements, but the DMV does not.
Other regulations include:
- The ride-hailing app must show an estimated fare before the ride begins.
- It must also display the driver's photo; the make, model and color of the car and its license plate number.
- Vehicles must have the ride-hailing company's logo displayed on the passenger side of the front window so passengers can identify it.
- The Department of Motor Vehicles must create procedures for consumer complaints.
- The DMV must establish complaint procedures for license violations of ride-hailing companies.
Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo this week signed legislation that moved up the start date for allowing ride sharing in upstate New York.