Share this article

print logo

Town of Tonawanda board recognizes outstanding youths and adults

The Town of Tonawanda Youth Board gave Diana Gruninger, an English/theater teacher at Kenmore West High School, the Joseph Allen Jr. Service to Youth Award for going above and beyond what is expected of a teacher and mentoring at-risk students on her own time at the board's 40th Annual Awards dinner.

High schools in the community each nominated one student to be recognized as an outstanding youth: Alexander Russell, Kenmore East; Julia Murphy, Mount St. Mary Academy; Abigail Ochs, Cardinal O’Hara; Rylee Watson, Kenmore West; Mohamed Amin, Sweet Home; Alexandria Rainey, Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda Career and Technical Center; and Nicholas Manning, St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute.

Patrick Manning was presented with the Outstanding Youth of the Year Award. The top five Youth Engaged in Service volunteers also were recognized: Justin Fuzi, Nathaniel Breeze, Katie Horvath, Anna Nesci and Matthew Sandy. Gennie Vitko, Darlene Evans and Chuck Grunzweig also were honored for their volunteer work on behalf of youth.


Story topics: / / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment