Share this article

print logo

Conservative Party leaders deny backing for 3 legislators over ECMC vote

Conservative leaders vented their wrath at three county legislators Tuesday, denying their endorsement over their “bad votes” on financing for new emergency facilities at Erie County Medical Center.

Democrats Patrick B. Burke and Peter J. Savage III plus Republican Kevin R. Hardwick – all had Conservative backing in previous elections – received a thumbs down during a meeting of Conservative Party leaders Tuesday evening, Chairman Ralph C. Lorigo said.

“The ECMC vote was just a bad governmental vote,” Lorigo said. “Who spends $100 million and not receive a cost breakdown?”

Lorigo has helped lead opposition to the ECMC financing plan for a new emergency room, contending the majority of the $100 million borrowing program is designed to prop up the Poloncarz administration’s operating budget. The legislators’ votes in favor, he said, resulted in their loss of support from the state’s top minor party that often proves crucial in close elections.

“This is a shot across the bow to remind them that fiscally conservative stuff still matters,” Lorigo said.

Erie County Legislature approves ECMC deal after a raucous debate

The decision results in the Conservative line for Republican Guy R. Marlette, running in a competitive race against Loughran in the District 5.

Other legislative endorsements were granted to Republican John J. Mills in District 11; Conservative Joseph C. Lorigo in District 10; Independence Lynne M. Dixon in District 9, and Republican Ted B. Morton in District 8.

The party also endorsed Republican incumbents Timothy B. Howard for sheriff and Stefan I. Mychajliw Jr. for comptroller, along with Democrat Susan Eagan for County Court. Democrats Betty Calvo-Torres and Andrew C. LoTempio were endorsed for Buffalo City Court.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment