Share this article

print logo

Hamburg teacher named Michael J. Dundon service to youth award winner

John McFall Jr., a Charlotte Avenue Elementary School teacher and Hamburg High School boys varsity hockey coach, has gone above and beyond his job description in giving directly to Hamburg youth, according to the Town of Hamburg Youth Bureau.

That is why he has been named the winner of the Michael J. Dundon Service to Youth Award.

The award, given to the person who best exemplifies the service of the late Dundon, who was the longtime executive director of the Youth Bureau, was one of several given out at the 29th annual Youth Bureau Service Awards and Recognition banquet last month.

The Mary T. Blakeslee award was given to Thomas Zdrojewski for volunteering his time, energy, dedication and commitment to youth development.

Addison Kinderman was named the recipient of the Donny Thiry Human Spirit Award, which honors the memory of the late Donny Thiry. The award honors the person who best exemplifies the qualities that Thiry displayed, overcoming all obstacles in his or her path and remaining positive and inspiring others.

The Recreation Department also recognized Ronald Sporyz, Jacqueline Murzynowski, Gabrielle Lonergan and Scott Hull as Character Coaches of the Year. The Youth Bureau recognized YES volunteers Brandon Tomasik, Trevor Lates, Nicholas Nelson, Gianna Publisi, Nicolas Gelyon, Sandra Nelson and Haley Evertt.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment