Share this article

print logo

Girls lacrosse 2017 Quick Hits: What you need to know

2016 postseason champions: Section VI – Lancaster (Class A), Hamburg (Class B), Lake Shore (Class C). Monsignor Martin Association  – Mount Mercy.

2016 All-Western New York underclassmen: First team – Shayla Scanlan-11 (Lake Shore), Ivy Santana-10 (Lake Shore), Jalyn Jimerson-10 (Lake Shore), Laura Skrzypczyk-11 (West Seneca East). Second team – Camryn Sullivan-11 (Amherst), Alyssa Maxwell-11 (Grand Island), Grace Vogel-11 (West Seneca East), Alexis Skowron-11 (Iroquois), Kendra Jones-11 (Nichols).

What's new: Class D – The fourth classification was approved by the New York State Public High Schools Athletic Association during the winter of 2016.

Key dates: Section VI seeding meeting May 20, Section VI Tournament begins May 22, Section VI finals May 31 (classes A and B at All High Stadium) and June 1 (classes C and D at Sweet Home), Far West Regionals June 3 at All High Stadium (Class B-10 a.m., C-noon, D-2 p.m., A-4 p.m.), State final four June 9-10 at SUNY Cortland, Monsignor Martin semifinals May 23 (at Canisius College), Monsignor Martin final May 25 (at Canisius College).

Frightening stat: Just a reminder that Section V is 55-1 all-time against Section VI in Far West Regionals – also known as the round where Western New York's lacrosse season usually comes to an end. Lancaster is the only Section VI program to win a regional game – doing so in 2008.

More numbers: Lancaster has won 11 of the last 12 Section VI Class A titles. Hamburg is on a run of five-straight Section VI Class B titles.

Favorites for Prep Talk Player of the Year include: Scanlan, Santana, Jimerson, Jones, Rae Tiberio (West Seneca West), Hannah Kennedy (Frontier), Sullivan, Hannah Smith (Amherst), Molly Meegan (Mount St. Mary), TaNia Cunningham (Nichols), Maren Geiger (Nichols), Laura Skrzypczyk (West Seneca East).

There are no comments - be the first to comment