Share this article

print logo

Canisius coach Dave Smith finalist for national coach of the year

Canisius hockey coach Dave Smith was one of 10 finalists named for the Spencer Penrose Award, given each year to the Division I Men's Hockey Coach of the Year.

The list was announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association. Voting will be conducted before the Frozen Four in Chicago with the winner announced on April 5.

Smith, who was named the Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year, guided the Golden Griffins to their first regular season championship in Atlantic Hockey. The Griffs, picked ninth in the conference's preseason poll, finished the season 21-11-7 overall. They lost to Robert Morris in the Atlantic Hockey semifinal.

The other finalists include: Norm Bazin (UMass Lowell, Hockey East Coach of the Year), Rick Bennett (Union, ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year), Ted Donato (Harvard, NCAA Semifinalist), Tony Granato (Wisconsin, Big Ten Coach of the Year), Jeff Jackson (Notre Dame, NCAA Semifinalist), Jim Montgomery (Denver, NCAA Semifinalist), Andy Murray (Western Michigan, NCHC Coach of the Year), Scott Sandelin (Minnesota Duluth, NCAA Semifinalist) and Tom Serratore (Bemidji State, WCHA Coach of the Year).

The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet on April 26 in Naples, Florida. The AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by CCM.

There are no comments - be the first to comment